Stuffed Chicken Leg - French Cooking Experiment

in #cooking7 years ago

I have never been great about cooking every day, but I love huge projects every once in a while. Spending an entire day to make a turducken or sausage is my idea of fun in the kitchen.
I was fortunate enough to take a French cooking course last year with an emphasis on charcuterie and meat preservation. One of the dishes that we learned and prepared was Stuffed Chicken Legs.
2017-12-30 15-22-58 9b0a6c5c copy 2.jpg
This is a meal where a chicken leg and thigh is deboned, filled with stuffing and sewed up to make a parcel. I LOVE the idea of this dish and the WOW factor when you serve and prepare it. However, at the course, I found the actual dish itself underwhelming - a little dry and a little bland.
I had enough time off over the holidays that I wanted to try this one more time.

Step 1: Prepare the Stuffing

Mushrooms
Mushroom.jpeg
Chopped Mushrooms
Mushroom-chopped.jpeg

Onions
Onion.jpeg
Chicken Liver
Chopped Onions
Onion-chopped2.jpeg

Chicken Liver
ChickenLiver.jpeg
Chopped/Minced Chicken Liver
ChickenLiver-chopped.jpeg

After that I added some chopped fresh herbs, seasoned with S+P, fried it all up in olive oil and let it sit in the fridge overnight.

Frying:
Fry Stuffing.jpeg
Fried:
FriedStuffing2.jpeg

Prepare the Chicken Leg and Thigh

For me this was the fun part. You need to remove the thigh and leg bone while keeping the meat largely intact and not cutting the skin.
Chicken1.jpeg
Chicken2.jpeg
Chicken3.jpeg

My hands where covered in raw chicken at this point, so I forgot to get photos of sewing the deboned chicken into a pouch, stuffing it and then sewing the whole thing up.

But, here is the final product prior to cooking.
Chicken4.jpeg

Cooking

First, brown the outside, just for a few minutes until you get the skin a little crispy
ChickenFry.jpeg

Then finish in the oven for 20 - 30 minutes
ChickenBake.jpeg

After that, simply present and enjoy!
ChickenFinal.jpeg

ChickenCrossSection.jpeg

This is my first attempt at posting something that I cooked, let me know what you think.

Thanks!

Sort:  

Congratulations @sdziekan! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sdziekan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47