Which one do you like better?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cooking7 years ago

Today I went grocery shopping and gathered all my supplies for this upcoming week of delicious treats from the kitchen! Since I am cooking a large dinner on Christmas Day for about 12 people, I decided to streamline a bit and serve a pre-cooked smoked turkey instead of roasting one myself. 

This will take a load off my shoulders for sure! But as I was unloading my groceries, I realized that by using a pre-cooked turkey I won't have the beautiful deep flavors of the drippings with which to make gravy. Sigh.

So here's the plan. I'm going to dig out that chicken carcass I threw into my freezer to make soup. On Christmas Eve, before going to bed I'll put it in the crockpot along with herbs, onions, celery, garlic and whatever else sounds good. I'll let that cook overnight so the flavors will really have time to develop. I know it won't be quite as nice as pan drippings, but it will be better than canned broth.

What are your plans for Christmas Dinner?

Sort:  

I thinks.. This is very delicious food.
I feel hungry.
@rebeccamorgan

Thanks for the post.
We are also coming together as family, having lunch together. (We will be eating to much again!!)

Oh yes, what's a holiday without eating too much? LOL What kinds of foods do you make there in Africa for your holidays?

For Christmas Lunch we normally make a number of meat dishes, leg of lamb, beef roast, gammon (we are not big on turkey), then veggies, normally pumpkin, green-beans, cauliflower, baked baby potatoes and rice and then some type of baked desert with custard. This is basically the traditional way, there can be variations.

amazing I so want to taste it

I'll buy a meal so just fine

looking very yummy....

The turkey looks yummy! I hope it tastes the same :)
For Christmas Dinner my mom is making baked pork tenderloin, in my opinion, the tastiest in the world :)

Tenderloin sounds good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49