Worth the Effort: Chimichangas

in #cooking6 years ago

So if you read yesterday's blog, you saw that I did a lot of prep in order to make chimichangas today, which I have never made before. Verdict? Deliciously worth it.

IMG_20180909_173825.jpg
GET IN MAH BELLEH

So, here is a non-recipe breakdown of how to make chimichangas from scratch. You non-allergic people, with your frozen convenience! ;)

Step one: make enchilada sauce
enchilada sauce.jpg

Step two: make sticky rice
IMG_20180908_155203.jpg

Step three: make tortillas
IMG_20180908_173658.jpg

Step four: cook chicken
IMG_20180909_161354.jpg

Step five: cut up block of cheese whilst you cook that chicken (it timed perfectly). Why not pre-shredded cheese? A) it's more expensive and b) it often has anti-caking agents I am allergic to, like corn starch. Yup! Even the cheese tries to get me!!
IMG_20180909_164310.jpg

Step six: take the chicken out of the water/broth and stick the sticky rice in there to get all chicken-y.

Step seven: chimichangas, assemble!
IMG_20180909_165640.jpg
those are refried black beans in the carton between the chicken and the cheese

Step eight: fry them on both sides. I was reminded of the #2 reason why I don't fry things often: oil splashing everywhere. But my kitchen was already a mess, so meh.
IMG_20180909_171957.jpg

Step nine: EAT
IMG_20180909_174606.jpg
fuck yeah, son

Step ten: clean ...some other day
IMG_20180909_173817.jpg
still totally worth it

You could top these with something to cut the heat if you wanted, like sour cream or lettuce. But I am allergic to lettuce and out of sour cream, so I have a glass of milk. ;) Thanks for reading my two-day epic of chimichanga goodness! You get Deadpool points.

Referral links:

Get free Manna, crypto UBI: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=6e4b50d35e

Join Simbi, the barter economy website: https://simbi.com/wren-paasch/welcome

Earn rebates from your everyday shopping with ibotta. Join with my referral code: ptonkkp. You’ll get a $10 welcome bonus and I’ll get $5. https://ibotta.com/rebates

Use Presearch for all your internet searching, including on specific websites, choose your search engine, earn free crypto: https://presearch.org/signup?rid=480866

Buy a Druid a Coffee (or the kittehs some noms, more likely): http://ko-fi.com/phoenixwren

photostudio_1518154776752.jpg

Sort:  

Oh my goodness...I just ate dinner but looking at these I'm literally STARVING again! Damn you!!

Frying is a mess. I usually baste mine in a little oil (less oil than frying) and bake them. If I make a lot I will freeze some for later but my guys don't usually leave enough to freeze.

I was wondering if that would work! What temp and how long do you do that for?

My oven is a fickle gas but I have it set for 400 and it takes about 10 to 15 minutes. I just watch them. They turn out crunchy (I like them that way) and non-greasy.

I loved only step Step nine as it is mostly I do. Our culture is different. male doesn't have access to the kitchen. But sometimes I try for special reasons. I loved this one and Chimichangas looks delicious. Did you check #Steemit-Ironchef tag, and the contest which is run by @progressivechef?

Oh no, I didn't know about that tag, I will look, thanks!
When I was in college, I worked with a guy for a short time (I think he quit after a few days) whose culture was like that - no males in the kitchen - in our dorm kitchen. He told us that, and we teased him about it a bit, "welcome to the kitchen!" ...and such, but he really meant it. On his first day, the chef asked him to mop the floor, so someone showed him what soap and how to put the mop ringer on the bucket, and left him to do it. He dumped the whole bucket on the floor and then started sopping it up with the mop. The chef ran over and asked what happened.
He was like, "You told me to mop the floor."
Her: "Yes, but how did the bucket get knocked over?" (it was literally a flood of water, it was a huge bucket)
Him: " ...isn't that how you mop the floor?"
Poor guy. He had no idea how any of it was done. XD

Haha. I hope I will not face such the situation. This is an interesting story. I love different cultures.

Very impressed with making your own tortillas!! I love to cook and do so often from scratch but I have never made tortillas.

They're simple enough, but mine always turn out on the small side. You'd think I'd have figured out the right ratio of dough by now, but nooooo, lol.

Damn that looks delicious! 🤩👍👌

They totally are. I will be doing this again! But maybe, like, in stages. Make the sauce one day ...make the tortillas another day ...lol.

Yum ...

Posted using Partiko iOS

You just planted 0.08 tree(s)!


Thanks to @phoenixwren

We have planted already 3599.56 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 39372.51
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74