You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Island of Misfit Cast Iron Cookware

in #cooking6 years ago

Omg I've never seen a restoration that successful before!!

That's honestly amazing, it looks brand new. I also LOVE cast iron but I've actually never had a go at restoring one. I've only ever purchased brand new and I stick with the Lodge American brand.

I completely agree with you that food seems to taste better when cooked in cast iron. I don't know what it is exactly either but it definitely seems to be more moist, it's got a better crust and it seems to be more evenly cooked.

If it wasn't so damn heavy I would replace all my cookware with cast iron but for now my two cast iron pans are good enough :)

Great post thank you for sharing!

Sort:  

Thanks @phamished! Yes, that one turned out ammmmazing. I have another small one that is just to crusted up I'll have to take a grinder wheel to it poor thing. I hope it forgives me!!

Where do you actually find people selling cast iron cookware? I’ve actually never seen it being sold second hand before :/

I just get lucky at yard sales and thrift stores. One place I go to often undervalues them and toss them over with teflon trash lol.

Wow lucky you! I guess a lot of people think cast iron cookware is just heavy pieces of crap that are high maintenance 😪 but lucky there’s people like you to come and clean them up haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67789.28
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72