My new ranger phone and an easy brain food recipe

in #cooking6 years ago

Recently, I learned about the 'lifeline' program in Alaska, which offers free/reduced price phones to low income persons like myself. Since my normal phone with Sprint service hasn't worked at all well for voice calls since I got here, I decided to give this program a try. What I ended up with was a $26.50 phone built for wet, rugged terrain called the Ranger R3:

KIMG0551.JPG

This thing is waterproof, can be dropped, and includes an fm radio. Does it text? Maybe, but I doubt it. Does it surf the web? It does not. It does make and receive voice calls here at the edge of the world, though, and I find that very useful.

In this land of rugged phones, one thing that's quite common is salmon. Having recently acquired a chunk of smoked wild salmon, I decided to take some pictures of one of my favorite easy recipes for healthily accompanying smoked wild fish. The ingredients list is short. Per serving, all that's required is 6oz red kale, a couple of small zucchinis, 2tbsp butter, and some salt.

The first step is cutting up the zucchinis, buttering up a sheet pan, and preheating the oven to 250F.

KIMG0553.JPG

Next is putting the zucchini slices on the pan and pulling all the big stems out of the kale:

KIMG0556.JPG

Next is piling all the kale on top of the zucchini slices and salting liberally. This can then go in the preheated oven for about half an hour or until the kale is crumbly-crispy on the edges:

KIMG0560.JPG

Finally, the whole mess is plated with a chunk of smoked fish which has been seasoned to taste:

KIMG0563.JPG

The end result is super happy brain food: )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78