Skābeņu zupa, the one dish I am most proud of.

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

Sorrels. That is what is mentioned in the post title. Now, this is one of my most favorite dishes in the world. Mainly because it brings back nostalgic memories. You see, when I was little, my grandparents used to make this wonderful food of the gods. Whenever we would decide that it was time for the soup I was on sorrel picking duty. Now, sorrels are something that was not planted in our garden. They grew wild and in a lot of places. Between long grass and moss. Everywhere. Sometimes it would be hard finding enough at first. Other times you would have to pick a lot. That happened when the sorrels were still small. If they are big(today I got them in medium size) it is much easier but the taste is not so potent anymore.

Also, sorrels are like rhubarbs. After a certain time, they become too acidic for the human body. Generally, it is 23rd of June when you should stop consuming them. The time of midsummer. So, sorrel soup is most definitely a seasonal food. Do not miss the time to pick them! Also. The taste. Hmm. It is in the same category as rhubarbs. Sour. A little bit similar to sour loops(not much, though). You can eat sorrels just like that, straight from the field. Or, you can put them in food. I guess you could explain it like this. Sorrel is the spinach of Latvia. I think Germans will understand(you use a lot of spinach). Technically, sorrel can go in any dish but I grew up having it in a soup that my grandma and grandpa made.

It is an easy one to make as the taste of sorrels takes over everything. There is no need to be at the stove for hours. The broth is bound to be good if you use enough sorrels. Also, I did not buy my sorrels in store. I picked them. By sheer luck, I found a meadow by a river path that is full of the sorrel leaves. They grow in clusters and are distinctively different from other plants(even though people sometimes do make mistakes picking them). You can eat the leaves as well as the stalk that is more acidic. Most people do not put the stalks in their food. But I do. I love the sour taste.

Also, stay clear of sorrel, and plants in general, that grow by the roadside. The cars put a lot of s*it in plants there. And if it is a pedestrian walking area, make sure that it is not popular amongst pet owners. A remote area or a nice meadow is the best. You can also plant some in your garden. In the grass area. It doesn't mess up the view and is the perfect snack for kids. I would know. I had a lot of these in my childhood.

Next order of business. The soup. I made a huge pot as my boyfriend eats like an animal and I love this dish. But otherwise, I think it would be enough for six to eight portions if you use my recipe. Maybe ten. It takes around an hour and a half to make but you will not be tied to the kitchen most of the time.

IMG_0562.JPG

Ingredients

around 400 g of fresh(or jarred) sorrels
3 l of water
6 large potatoes
5 to 6 eggs
1 small cup of pearl barley (for thickness)
smoked meat according to your preferences( Here, in Germany, they do not smoke their meat properly so I bought fresh pork with bone)
2 onions
salt, pepper, dill, leek, ramson, and some veggie broth mix if you want to add an extra punch to the dish

Sour cream for when the soup is in a dish

IMG_0529.JPG

Now, it is important to wash your sorrels and make sure there is no additional grass in the mix. That will not taste good! :D

If you would like, remove the stalks from the leaves. I did not but I did not have many stalks

After you wash your leaves, put them to dry

Pour water into a pot and put it to boil, add the meat. If it is fresh meat, throw it in for a couple of minutes and then take out when it is slightly ready. If it has bone attached, take the meat out when it is slightly ready, cut off the bone and throw it(the bone) back in the pot. If it is smoked meat(preferably ribs), throw it in and leave until the soup is ready.

IMG_0554.JPG
These are sorrels. I had some leftover ones so I froze them. Then I remembered that I should show them to you. The best way to distinguish them is by their ''feet''. Those two green little things on the bottom of the leaves. Also, the veins in the sorrel leaves are never distinctive. If they are, you have picked the wrong leaves.

Now, peel and cut the onions into small pieces. Add them to the pot

Peel your potatoes, cut them into bite-size cubes and throw them in the pot

Add the small cup of pearl barley in the mix

Take the eggs and put them in another pot. Boil until hard (10 to 12 minutes) then take off the stove and leave until the soup is almost ready

Take the sorrel and start cutting it into small pieces, add to the pot gradually. You cut a bunch, you add it. Take the next one, and repeat.

IMG_0540.JPG

The sorrels will become brownish-green in the pot. That is normal. That is what happens with green things that are put in hot water.

Reduce the heat to minimum and boil until the potatoes are ready.

Check once in a while as well as add the spices that you think should be in the pot.

And, five minutes before switching the stove off, add meat cut into small cubes and the eggs that you boiled(also cut into small pieces)

IMG_0549.JPG

And voilà. That's all folks! I hope you enjoyed this amazing, not so well known recipe. It was so lucky for me to find some sorrel as not many people here actually know about it. I hope you get to make the soup! And, if we humans ever run out of food, sorrel is the answer. Go to a meadow and be ready to make some life-preserving-substance!

IMG_0551.JPG
I know it does not look amazing but, boy, it tastes divine!

I hadn't made a food post for a while. That is what I wanted to do. Plus, I am very proud of the Latvian sorrel soup. It is the best and nobody should be kept from its glory!

Have the best day! Today, tomorrow, and forever.
Linda

Sort:  

looks great! I will have to try it. If I can't find sorrel, I might attempt this with curly dock. They way you described it is pretty similar.

Hmm. Never had heard of it. But it does look similar. A little different leaves but the same growing pattern. Sorrel has red seeds when it is not eatable anymore. They seem to grow similarly on the curly dock(such an interesting name).

yeah it has a sort of spinach+lemon taste so it might work well. The leaves are a bit tougher though it seems.

Yes. That is something I see as well. But when you boil 'em, they are going to have the same consistency either way :D

excellent. I will have to grab some then!

This sounds great indeed! Now I am very motivated to create a version without the bone-thing and the eggs. I think this is a rough challenge but I'll give it a try with the goal to make you proud of me! 😁 But first I have to find a meadow with long gras and wild sorrel ... Yesterday (Tuesday) I made I bikeride along the river and near your former village (Eibelstadt) I found a juicy meadow and harvested some nettles, ground ivy and garlic mustard for a pesto I served at dinner tonight. Watch following posts ... Maybe there are some sorrels too?

There should be. I found mine between Sommerhausen and Ochsenfurt when roller blading. We could meet up halfway and look for some together if you are into long bike rides :D

Also, if you do not know. Taste test is the best option. There are no poisons leaves that look like sorrel. Even though there are some horribly tasting ones :D I do not know about Eibelstadt. Last year we got sorrels from somebodies garden in Eibelstadt. I did not have to look. Jonas mom even bought a plant herself. For planting. I am sure you can even buy those.

The important thing is to use graupen. Is that how you call them? It makes the water thicker. As for meat, that is completely unnecessary. The egg part will be the bigger challenge as eggs taste amazing in the soup. The truth is, though, the soup will taste great no matter what you add because the sorrels have a very unique taste. Use 400 or more grams on the big pot and you are going to be good. If you use less it might be an issue as the liquid won't get enough of the uniqueness :D

You can add a carrot. Something that has meaty consistency. Nothing with a potent taste, though. The soup should not mix flavors.

looks delicious, and the ingredients are very natural.

As natural as they come :D These days gathering your own food is a rare occurrence :D

send me some of that food..it looks great what to try it out, greetings

You will just have to go out and find some sorrels on your own, Jack! The soup is probably not going to survive the trip :D

Its look awesome. Recipe content is good. I like this thanks @lindahas

Thank you :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lindahas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50