You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Canning Meatballs and Spaghetti Sauce - Lori's Cookbook

in #cooking5 years ago

Never thought of home made meatballs and sauce can pack it into jars. I always thought it came from factory only. Great to learn the new knowledge and thanks for sharing.

Sort:  

Thank you for stopping by!
When I joined my two Facebook groups - one's called "outlaw canners" and the other is "rebel canners" - my world was opened. The attitude in that group is: if it can be done in a factory, it can (probably) be safely done at home too. (And if our great-grandmothers did it safely, then we can do it too.)

I wonder how long can we keep it in jars? Your great-grandmothers must be a freaking awesome chef and you are too.

The USDA recommendation (I think) is like 18 months in the jars, but people say all the time that they opened a jar from many years ago and it was still good. The USDA is trying to avoid lawsuits - that's the basis of many of their ideas.

"great-grandmothers" was more of a generational thing. Neither of my grandmothers canned, but I'm sure at least one of their mothers did - though not the only one I got to meet. My mother taught me a lot of the basics, but the rest, I've had to pick up along the way - sometimes by trial and error... (some of which I'll cover in my next canning post.)

Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57367.79
ETH 3098.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32