Hash for Breakfast

in #cooking7 years ago

Definitely not Wheaties but this simple skillet meal could be considered a breakfast of champions.

IMG_1104.jpg

This is a delicious and satisfying breakfast especially if you would like to incorporate more vegetables into your diet. Let's be honest, more vegetables won't harm any of us.

I have been trying to add more vegetables to my diet. One meal I always felt lacked them was breakfast. This is a quick and easy recipe involving a few ingredients:

BRUSSEL SPROUTS
POTATOES
EGGS
EXTRA VIRGIN OLIVE OIL (EVOO)
SALT
PEPPER

I began by slicing the brussel sprouts three or four times per sprout, depending on size.

IMG_1118.jpg

The sprouts were tossed in a bowl and next I diced the potatoes to roughly the same size and thickness as the brussels.

IMG_1121.jpg

IMG_1119.jpg

I then combined, in large bowl, the brussel sprouts, potatoes, EVOO, a bit of salt and a pinch of pepper. I mixed this combination until it seemed homogeneous.

IMG_1123.jpg

A large skillet was placed on the stove top. I poured a dribble of EVOO into the skillet and turned the heat on medium.

After the oil was heated, I carefully poured the mixture from the bowl into the skillet. The mixture was spread out evenly in the skillet and allowed to sit about 5 minutes between stirrings.

After each stirring, the mixture was spread evenly in the skillet, assuring it was heated as evenly as possible.

This process should yield crispy brussels and browned potatoes - a delicious hash.

After about 15 minutes, the brussels and potatoes were ready so I turned the heat to a lower setting and created two holes in the hash for my eggs.

I then cracked the eggs and dropped them into their perspective hole. Covering the dish after this will allow the whites of the eggs to cook on top of the hash.

IMG_1101.jpg

When the whites of the eggs are no longer translucent, you are good to go. Use a spatula or large spoon to plate the meal so the yolks of the eggs do not break.

Yummy!!!

You can definitely get creative with this dish. Add cooked bacon, different vegetables, spices, a little hot sauce and some cheese. However you make it your own, I am sure it will be delicious.

Thanks for peeping!
Kiristin

Sort:  

Looks nutritious and delicious

Looking very good!

That looks fing delicious. I know what I'm making for breakfast tomorrow

Awesome! It’s so easy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62255.52
ETH 2449.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63