Pease Pudding soup for Dinner. Cheap, Quick and filling.

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

With us having really cold weather I thought I would make a pan of soup for tea. Something cheap, quick too make and filling. I decided too make Pease Pudding soup.

INGREDIENTS

Pease Pudding
Potatoes
Onions
Leeks
Vegetable Stock Cube
Garlic (If desired)
Salt & Pepper

20180301_153709.jpg

Chop the Potatoes, Onions, Garlic and Leeks. Put a pan of water on, about 2 pints, bring to the boil then add the Onion, Leeks, Garlic & Stock Cube. Bring back to the boil for a couple off minutes.

20180301_153804.jpg

Then add the Potatoes, bring back to the boil then simmer for 10 minutes.

20180301_153933.jpg

Chop the Pease Pudding up as it will dissolve better. Add to pan and stir, keep the soup moving to stop it from sticking.

20180301_153842.jpg

Let it simmer for 10 minutes, stir now and again to make sure the Pease Pudding has blended in.

Add to a bowl with either crusty bread or crackers and enjoy.

20180301_165808.jpg

This is a cheap soup to make, its filling and great for warning you up. I like this as it doesn't take that much work. I like it chunky where some like it blended.


Thank you son-of-satire


@karenb54

Made by @creatr

Sort:  

Can I add some capsicum????Because I just love it....

Suppose you can add what you want :)

The soup really looks delicious. We like potatoes and leeks. Lots of them. But I have a question, silly me. Is the Pease pudding you add made from dried peas? I know pease refers to peas but I have never come across pease pudding in a container.

Yeah its made with split yellow peas, we can buy it already made up :)

I wish we could, but I need to make everything from scratch here. It takes a bit longer but tastes oh, so good.

I agree homemade is so much nicer :)

Mouthgasmic food my friend !

Thank you :)

it looks delicious and a perfect recipie for this weather. how is the beast from the east treating you? I'm in that little corner of wales that is missing most of it.

Your really lucky then as its horrible, the wind is nasty the snow is horrible and the cold is well freezing lol Its not good at all.

It's not nice at all. I just read that the army have been deployed to get NHS staff to work in Edinburgh.

Yeah its pretty dire at the moment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63580.05
ETH 3253.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91