Cooking By GuessworksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cooking5 years ago

I had some leftover diced chicken that needed to be made into something, but I wanted something simple. Here is the result.

20190920_191119.jpg
Left: dairy.
Center: no-man's land.
Right: Daiya.

I preheated the oven to 400°F and layered everything in a 9x13 stoneware baking dish as follows:

1 package of Jiffy corn muffin mix (8.5 oz. box) prepared according to the instructions with 1 egg and 1/3 cup milk. I substituted almond milk.

1 can of diced tomatoes with chilis (14.5 oz.) Drained and spooned as evenly as practicable.

1 cup of corn kernels from a freezer bag

About 1-1/2 cups of leftover diced chicken

Shredded cheddar cheese on one side and Daiya mozzarella substitute on the other.

It took about 30 minutes to bake properly.

I am pleased with the result, but I would add some notes for future personal reference and as suggestions for others who try this:

  1. Dice an onion and add that in the mix somewhere.

  2. Feel free to add more chilis unless like me you share food with people who are gastronomic wimps!

  3. This worked well enough in an ungreased stoneware pan, but plan to add some olive oil spray and adjust the baking time if you use something else.

Sort:  

@jacobtothe some of the best recipes are made from throwing leftovers together and making it up as you go.

That looks and sounds better than some of the leftovers concoctions I have come up with. And it was a good way to use up the chicken.

I improvise with almost every meal I prepare. I never learned to cook unfortunately. I made chili recently and forgot the tomato paste...so now I have spicy meat water with vegetables.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's soup. It's what you intended all along. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80