Recipe Day: Strawberry Shortcake with Whipped Cream

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

Supper crop June 2015.jpg

When I was growing up Sunday suppers were apt to be pancakes, or waffles, and bacon or sausage. In summer, it could be a giant strawberry shortcake with real whipped cream. I still do suppers of shortcakes. There were 6 of us kids, usually 9 people at the table.

I can no longer do wheat, so I adapted a recipe for shortcake. It is VERY rich! Please make sure you follow the directions exactly. I’ve had some stupendous flops messing around with the recipe.

Prepare the Strawberries

Prepare the strawberries: hull and wash, then slice, reserving the biggest ones for top decoration. I don’t use sweeteners if I can avoid it so I don’t sweeten strawberries. Process them a couple hours ahead and cover them. I do enough to fill a 4 quart bowl.

Strawberry Millet Shortcake

8 large eggs, separated
4 cups whole millet flour
½ cup sugar
1 tsp. salt
1½ cups milk OR ½ cup buttermilk + 1 cup milk
1 stick butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350F. Line a 12½” x 18” (MUCH bigger than a 9” x 12” cake pan) roasting pan with parchment paper. (Greasing does not work!)

Beat the egg yolks until smooth, then add the milk and mix until well blended.

Mix or sift all the dry ingredients together in a large bowl. Pour the butter into the dry ingredient mix and mix until it becomes small crumbs and is uniform in texture. Add the yolk/milk mix and mix thoroughly.

Whip the egg whites until just turning glossy and forming soft peaks. Immediately pour onto the batter and gently fold in until completely incorporated.

Pour into the pan, making sure the batter gets into the corners and is level. Bake 20 mins or until a toothpick in the center comes out clean and the edges are lightly browned.

Let cool in the pan. For double layers, carefully cut in ½ without cutting the paper. Slide out ½ on the paper and slide on to large high lipped pan. Put sliced berries on and the carefully lift and slide the other ½ onto the berries.

Whipped cream crop Nov. 2017.jpg

Whipped Cream

1 pint heavy raw cream
1 - 2 tablespoons vanilla extract (yes, tablespoons)

Chill bowl and beaters in freezer. Make sure cream is COLD. Whip cream on high until soft peaks form, then add vanilla and finish whipping until stiffer peaks form. Cream will turn slightly tan colored. Serve immediately.

Strawberry shortcake and whipped cream crop June 2015.jpg


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

My mum made this occasionally when we were growing up, not often enough unfortunately.

Love me some shortcakes with Strawberries. I haven't ever used millet flour but using buttermilk sounds delish and Rich for sure. Yum!

Millet flour is easier to use than wheat, except for baking, as it doesn't have glutin/protein that makes wheat baked things nice. I use it for everything I'd use wheat flour for. For baking I rely on egg whites and/or baking soda/baking powder. I do little baking as I don't do sweet stuff. This shortcake is all the baking I do!

Yummm...am planning on shortcake for the restaurant.

Congratulations! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit "how to" posts for the Homesteading/Survival/Foraging/Prepper communities. If you haven't done so already, you can claim your badge along with the code to add to your posts to let the world know you have chosen to help others Survive, Thrive and be Prepared! Click here to get the code

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62853.43
ETH 3013.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50