Recipe Day – Deviled Eggs and Egg Salad

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

Deviled eggs - finished crop April 2018.jpg

I’ve been wanting to make deviled eggs and egg salad for a while, but never remembered to get mayonnaise. We finally got some yesterday so here are my simple recipes, which I prefer, and some ideas for different flavors.

To start with, selecting eggs is important. It will determine how you will cook them. I had a box of older eggs, about 10 days old. If you can use older eggs, you can simply cover them with water and boil for 15 mins. As soon as they are done, cover them with repeated changes of cold water until the water doesn’t warm up quickly. They will be ready to peel. All 12 of mine peeled perfectly, for a change.

Deviled eggs - peeling crop April 2018.jpg

If you have to use fresh eggs, steaming them is best. Set them on a steamer in a pan with plenty of water and steam for 20 mins. As soon as the timer goes off, put them immediately into a large ice water bath. Keep them in there until you are done peeling. I’ve found if I keep the shell very wet, by putting the egg back into the ice water as needed, they peel easier.

Deviled Eggs

Deviled eggs - separating crop April 2018.jpg

I rinse each egg and slice it in ½ as I go, discarding the yolks in a small bowl. If I get one where the yolk is real close to the edge of the white, I slice it up for egg salad.

Deviled eggs - ingredients1 crop April 2018.jpg

I set out some different herbs and spices you can try in the yolk mix. I prefer simply mayonnaise and Dijon mustard in mine, with a sprinkle of paprika on top. The little dish is chives.

Deviled eggs - Joy recipe crop April 2018.jpg

This is The Joy of Cooking and on page 225 there are lots of ideas for exotic fillings.

Egg Salad

Once I had the best ones for the deviled eggs, I set about slicing up the remaining ones for egg salad. I have an egg slicer and like the eggs diced. This is a tricky maneuver to do.

Egg salad - cut1 crop April 2018.jpg

Cut #1 is with the egg perpendicular to the wires.

Egg salad - cut2 crop April 2018.jpg

Cut #2 is with the egg parallel to the wires.

Egg salad - cut3 crop April 2018.jpg

Cut #3 is with the egg still parallel to the wires, but turned 90°. To do this you need to cup the egg, which is resting on top of the wires, in your hand and turn it upside down, dropping it off the wires. Open the slicer and carefully rotate the egg and set it back in the rest. Holding it in place on as many sides as you can, slice the last time.

Egg salad - diced crop April 2018.jpg

I put about 2½ - 3 tbsps. of mayonnaise and 1 heaping tbsp. of Dijon mustard in and mix well.

Egg salad - finished1 crop April 2018.jpg

I made sandwiches of this for lunch using my millet bread, one side spread with the salad, a thick layer of baby kale and beet leaves, and bread and butter relish spread on the other slice. Yum!


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

Yum! I love egg salad and we just had deviled eggs on Easter! Just so you know @goldenoakfarm, this article qualifies for the most recent Homesteading Challenge - would you like to submit this article for entry into the challenge for your chance to win? Let me know :)

Thank you for asking me! I have submitted it. I hope I did it correctly...

Yup! You've been entered into the challenge, thanks!

Pretty deviled eggs! I love egg salad! Yum!

In your herbs/spices line-up, I see my favorite for egg salad, Celery Salt!

I make that myself. It's soooo much better than store bought! We use a lot of it in a year, about 1/2 gallon jar.

a half gallon...of celery salt?!!! wow!

Congratulations! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit "how to" posts, upvoted and resteemed. Sotall curates posts for the Homesteading/Survival/Foraging/Prepper communities. If you haven't done so already, you can claim your badge along with the code to add to your posts to let the world know you have chosen to help others Survive, Thrive and be Prepared! Click here to get the code

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58331.25
ETH 2509.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34