Making Violet Jelly

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

First harvest - violets crop April 2017.jpg

I heard about violet jelly 3 years ago. I have a lot of violets growing in my yard and so I thought I’d try making the jelly to sell on the farm stand.

Violet Jelly - 2 cups infusion crop April 2016.jpg

Real pretty color in the infusion.

Violet Jelly  crop April 2016.jpg
April 2016 batch

I made 1 batch and it lost the pretty color and never set-up. I sold a few, mostly as a “dessert sauce” as it was good, had nice flavor.

Violet flower jelly - 3 batches crop April 2017.jpg
April 2017, 3 batches

The next year my mother-in-law helped me with making the jelly. It kept the lovely color this time, but still did not set-up. I was using the Pomona low sugar pectin.

So I tried again this year. Here’s what I do:

Violet Jelly - 2 cups crop April 2016.jpg
2 cups of flowers, no stems

The darker the color of the flowers the better color you get for the jelly.

Violet Jelly - infusion crop April 2016.jpg
Add 2 cups of boiling water

You want to use a Mason jar or heat proof container for this so it doesn’t break. Cover the jar or container and let it sit for at least 4 hours. I would pick the flowers in the very early morning the first 2 years and then make the jelly in the afternoon.

Plants are at their highest nutrition and health by mid afternoon and use this all during the night. By early morning, they are at their lowest ebb and the sun coming up sets them to work restoring what they used during the night and growing bigger or maturing. So maybe the early morning picking wasn’t the best time.

This year we’d had no rain for a few days and it was to rain the day I planned to make jelly. I didn’t want to deal with a lot of splashed dirt so I picked them after supper the night before. I left them in the infusion all night.

Violet jelly - violet water and waste crop May 2018.jpg
Look at the deep color

Violet jelly - violet waste crop May 2018.jpg

You can see in the waste that there’s still color that didn’t come out. So it looks like a long time in the infusion gives the best color.

Violet jelly - ingredients crop May 2018.jpg
Ingredients for violet jelly

Ingredients:

2 cups violet infusion
4 cups sugar
¼ cup lemon juice
2 tsps. calcium water (if using Pomona)
4 tsps. Pomona pectin

Method:

Mix the lemon juice into the infusion well. This will help hold the color.

Heat your jars, lids, and rings for 10 minutes to sterilize them. Leave them in the hot water until you fill each one.

Sift and mix the pectin into the sugar very thoroughly. If not mixed well, the pectin will form lumps.

In a non-reactive pot place the infusion mix and add the calcium water and mix very well. Bring to a boil. Add the sugar mix and stir vigorously for at least 2 minutes to incorporate the pectin in the liquid. Bring to a boil and remove from heat immediately.

Lilac jelly - foam scum on jelly crop May 2018.jpg

There will be a lot of foam/scum on top. Let it set for a few minutes and it will reduce. Skim off what’s left. This may not look very good, but kids will like it!

Into each hot jar, using a funnel, pour the jelly up to ¼” from the top of the jar. Wipe the rim with a clean cloth, set a hot lid on and put the ring on tight.

Once you’ve filled all the jars, return them to the canning kettle of hot water and bring to a rolling boil. Process them at this point for 10 minutes.

Set them on a towel spaced evenly apart to cool. This can take several hours and they should not be disturbed. You will hear the ping of the lids as they seal when they cool.

Once they are all cool, check the lids to make sure the center is depressed. Label with contents name and the month/date.

Jellies ready for canner2 crop May 2018.jpg
Finished jellies, left to right: violet (5 rows), lilac (2 rows), dandelion (2 rows)

This time, with 4 tsps. pectin, they set-up a little better, but it’s still not firm jelly. But I got beautiful colors and the lilac smells heavenly. Now if I can just get it to set-up…

Credit for recipe: http://livetheoldway.com/violet-jelly/

Sort:  

Very lovely products - I'm sure they will be a big hit!

Sometimes when making jellies like these I will add some apple pectin or even some already made apple jelly to the pot in addition to the Pomona pectin. It seems to helps to achieve that nice jelly texture.

Well, I plan to make the pectin you posted about a few days ago, this fall. I can add that next year.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-14T10:48:48
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 104.00/200.00
Total Photos: 16
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.14 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That's such a cool idea!! I might do something similiar with mint as I have sooo much of it growing right now and it smells divine...

very cool! excellent tutorial! well done . resteemed @the-hearth!

Excellent tutorial! So funny, I picked and made the dandelion tea today for my jelly for sundays market! I am already stressing about it not setting lol!! Violet jelly sounds divine, we don't have enough of them here to make that but we do have lilacs. Beautiful colour you got from that batch!!

For someone who has never tried making jelly before, I have never heard of calcium water before. Can you tell me more about this?

Really glad you made this detailed post. Hope you get to reprise it again in the future if you plan to make more jam recipes. I think mint, anise, and lime would make good jam flavors. Every time I cut lime leaves on my bonsai trees, I'm always wishing I could use the scented juices inside the leaves for something edible.

I use Pomona pectin (it's locally made) and their site's video probably explains it better than I can..

http://www.pomonapectin.com/learn/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.93
ETH 3441.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63