I like soup. (Making Veggie Soup)

in #cooking6 years ago

Soup is good.

The great thing about veggie soup, as I'm pretty sure I've said before, is that you don't really need a recipe. You just take whatever you have, and you make a soup out of it.

I started out with a pot of water, since unfortunately my electric kettle suddenly died the other day.

20181117_165204_noexif.jpg

You can add salt at this point. It doesn't really matter that much.

I then sliced and quartered some potatoes here. You can dice them instead, which is a bit more work, and ends up with smaller pieces, but these cook pretty much just as fast.

20181117_165640_noexif.jpg

I then cut up half of an onion to add to it. I sliced two slices off of the stout but fat red onion, then cut them in half, and sliced those halves into pieces. It's a simple step to dice from here, but the rings of the onion make small enough pieces, and this will give me a few slightly larger pieces for the soup.

20181117_165950_noexif.jpg

I also added about half a can of diced tomatoes which were left over from some meal from another day.

20181117_170047_noexif.jpg

I then added a cup of lentils. Because lentils are good in soup.

20181117_170232_noexif.jpg

Mmm...it's gonna be good...

20181117_170316_noexif.jpg

I then realized a few minutes later that I forgot the celery! I always have celery around, for the occasional peanut butter and celery snack, as well as throwing into random foods, like soup!

20181117_172046_noexif.jpg

I sliced the celery down the center then cut it into little bits. Slicing it down the center first makes for slightly smaller pieces.

20181117_172222_noexif.jpg

I added them to the soup.

20181117_172309_noexif.jpg

Then stirred them in.

20181117_172336_noexif.jpg

After a little bit, I chopped up the one half of a carrot and left the other to add later.

20181117_174339_noexif.jpg

I then add the carrot to the soup.

20181117_174352_noexif.jpg

Mmm... Doesn't that look good?

20181117_174407_noexif.jpg

After letting it cook for a bit, I cut up the second carrot...or rather the whole one that I had set aside.

20181117_175718_noexif.jpg

Leaving it to add a bit later lets it break down a bit less.

20181117_175737_noexif.jpg

After a bit of spicing, some curry powder, oregano and parsley, as well as leaving it to cook for a bit, and it looks quite delicious!

20181117_190358_noexif.jpg

I actually let it cook a bit more after this, but I could have served it at any point.

soup.gif

It was delicious! Veggie soup is a great easy meal to eat when you don't feel like cooking anything too complex. Just takes a bit of food prep and time to cook.

After making the video that I turned into a gif at the beginning I must have bumped the shutter afterwards and it took this picture of my onion basket next to the soup. I kind of like it.

20181117_190425_noexif.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

I live alone and don't like cooking complex meals. This looks like a proper tasty veggie soup. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 19 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 110 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

You got a 17.45% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @geekpowered!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hi @geekpowered!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.592 which ranks you at #1744 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1741).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 229 contributions, your post is ranked at #113.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

upvoted!

If you want to return the favor, please upvote :https://steemit.com/tasteem/@jyinvest/tasteem-cea8dc

Have a wonderful day @geekpowered

Oh, yeah, your 1% upvote means soo much. Allow me to return the favor in the form of flags, for your spam.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56