You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Make Elder Flower Pancakes

in #cooking7 years ago

That is a cool idea to use them! We have one bush in a garden (in Poland) and I remember there was lots of them growing around near the fields.
We use the flowers to make sweet syrup (its good for colds) and the fruits for juice. Delicious stuff!

Sort:  

There is one wild plant that you know well! I'm glad you have enjoyed both the flowers and the fruit. It's a great plant!

Yep, I do know this one :).
But I don't see it here in Portugal unfortunately.

We will find something that you have around you, that you can identify and harvest, lol! I am motivated! ; )

I heard that Sedums are edible. I have those on a balcony ;)

You have a great balcony garden! I've never tried sedums. There's always more plants to eat! I know Norman had some on a sandwich over on Tsu, lol. But I still haven't tried them. Do you have Black Locust trees (Robinia pseudoacacia) in your part of Portugal?

It is not big, but I have some nice plants there. And it keeps changing since I don't know exactly what will grow in this climate and in a pot.
Looks like I should have just cacti and succulents :p

Yes, I remember Norman showing the sandwich and he told me that sedum is edible. But I don;t know if every sedum. I have some that have those little spikey leaves and some that have those bigger "normal" leaves. I am not sure so I am afraid to try it.

I think we do... There are some huge trees around that in spring bloom with those hanging white flowers. I didn't see the leaves - they are a bit far from the road. But it could be that...
But it could be Acacia. It wouldn't be a different name for your tree?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68363.69
ETH 2642.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69