Why do you bake?

in #cooking7 years ago (edited)

There's something mysterious about cooking. It's like this special touch, a talent that brings joy to many but instills fear into others. I can make that last statement with pure confidence as I have been in both boats. Terrified of performing anything requiring skill in the kitchen, I relied on frozen pizzas and gasp pre-made skillet meals with chicken and pasta. FROZEN. PASTA. And not of the ravioli variety. Really?

Then one day I crocked. Yes, I mean that literally. I put chicken in the crock pot along with my own bbq sauce mixture and holy moly, those were some serious results. It wasn't burnt. It didn't taste like it crawled out of the trash. It was delightful.

So then it began, my journey into foodism. Is that a word? Does it matter? I love food, and even more, I love showing people who were just like me that they can do it. You can bake a cake from scratch with only a few more steps than a box cake requires. You can make an amazing dinner at home. You can impress others, but who cares about that? Impress yourself.

I started my blog to document this descent into the valley o' food love, and post photos of the steps to document the fact that even the most complex recipes can be broken down. When something is overwhelming, break it down to the simplest form. Think you can't cook? Keep reading, we will get there.

Sort:  

Because I get kitchen curious

What made me try to learn was a serious craving for a super rich chocolate cake. I mean, I craved this cake for longer than I should admit before I realized that I could just make one. It wasn't too bad an effort, but I look forward to doing better. I'll keep reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52