Home made bread tip: Much less yeast NO salt.

in #cooking7 years ago

bread.png

Hello steemit community. I love freshly baked home made bread. It is a very rewarding experience to bake a loaf of bread from scratch. A few years ago I set out to do just that. At first my loaves were very small and dense, as if it was not rising properly, so I simply removed salt as an ingredient, because I knew salt killed yeast and the yeast makes the bread rise by releasing CO2. However, I soon realized my bread tasted... yeasty, kinda like a sourdough bread. It was not very tasty. However, I did not get discouraged and I tried again. This time I got brave and used about 1/2 a teaspoon of yeast. This made the bread taste amazingly better, but it needed even less yeast. Don't be afraid to experiment! Sometimes just because everyone does something one way, does not mean there is not a better way.

Sort:  

Great idea. Just love the homemade breads.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56