Yellow pseudo-harissa sauce

in #cooking7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I wrote about making harissa from red bell peppers. You might have seen in those images that I also roasted up some yellow peppers at the same time. When I was researching harissa, it occurred to me that I could make up three different pepper sauces using the three big traffic-light colors in which bell peppers are most commonly sold.

So today, I put together the yellow sauce. These were my starting ingredients:
IMG_7223.jpg

Roasted peppers, raw cashews, cumin, turmeric, saffron, coriander, curry, ginger, tomatoes, onion, lemon juice, garlic, and olive oil.

It was a little thin and a dominated by onion, so I added a variety of other things, mixing and tasting as I went. This included: marmalade, mustard powder, balti mix, lemon zest, white pepper, toasted garlic powder, sesame oil, etc. Add, mix, taste...add, mix, taste.

IMG_7226.jpg

Eventually, the onion was mellowed, or at least had competition from other flavors. It's a very complex melange now -- quite interesting. If you wanted to do this, you could use literally any ingredients. When I was making the harissa last night, I felt at least a little obliged by the Moroccan (etc) traditions to sort of keep things in that ballpark. But with this, I just wanted something interesting and was able to iterate upon the base. It's a fun exercise and now I have a lot of sauce that I can figure out how to use.

IMG_7227.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63570.02
ETH 3400.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56