How to make your mediocre pancakes 300% better! Easy.

in #cooking8 years ago


Image source

Pancakes are super easy to make. They are one of the simplest foods to cook, yet are still delicious. It is surprising how many people still make pancakes wrong. When I say wrong, what I really mean is: not the way I make them (or something similar).

So I'm sure that most of you pancake newbies start out with a pancake mix. This is absolutely fine. They do not have to be made from scratch to be delicious. If you want to make them from scratch, then use flower and baking powder instead. So after that, just add your milk and eggs, and we are done! ... Right? ... No. You have got to be kidding me...

So after you have your main ingredients, you need to spice this batter up a little bit. Start melting some butter in a pan (several tablespoons), and pour that into the mix.

On a side note, I don't really measure any of these ingredients. You should use different amounts until you find the recipe that you like.

Add a couple spoonfuls of sugar.

Add some salt (but not too much -- a teaspoon maybe).

Pour some vanilla into there.

If you want them fluffier, add baking powder. I usually don't add it unless I am not using a pancake mix.

Whisk all of that up! Here is an important step: put some butter down on the pan before pouring every pancake. Sometimes I will use bacon grease, but it is better with just butter.

These came out really thick, so I added some more milk.

These are the thinner ones:

Finally, try new recipes for your pancakes. You can make chocolate chip, blueberry, strawberry, bacon, and many more flavors. I fried up some bananas in oil and brown sugar for the topping.

The banana idea was delicious. I didn't even need syrup on the pancakes!

I hope this was useful and inspired you to stop making mediocre pancakes!


Sort:  

Beautiful post, very good recipe, thanks for sharing congratulations

Fantastic food post. Keep these coming!

STEEM ON!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.59
ETH 3132.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44