Amish Sweet Bread

in #cooking6 years ago

In looking to live a healthier and more sustainable life I started making my own bread. My family no longer buys store bought bread as it is usually much less expensive for me to make it myself. Not to mention it is much healthier as my ingredient label usually only has 5 ingredients. All of which I can pronounce too! Now, I a cannot take credit for creating this recipe as its an old Amish Sweet Bread that is pretty commonly known. I still wanted to share it today to show how easy it is to make your own bread and avoid the chemical laden nutrient poor breads most consumers are buying today.
Also, I would like to note that while this recipe I am sharing with you is made with store-bought flour I also grind my own wheat berries too. Currently I have both red and white wheat berries in my freezer when I need to make fresh flour. This batch just happens to be your generic white bread that my husband just refuses to give up on. Personally, I prefer the lovely nutty flavors of fresh ground wheat flour.

Ingredients:
4 cups warm Water (usually around 104 degrees F)
1 1/3 cups sugar (I use a raw organic cane sugar)
3 TBSP bread Yeast
1/2 cup oil (I like organic cold pressed virgin olive oil or coconut oil sourced from the same method)
3 tsp Salt (I use sea salt or other rock salt like Pink Himalayan)
10 - 12 cups flour of choice (I suggest bread flower or your own ground flour)

To prepare:
To your 4 cups warm water add the sugar until dissolved. Next, add your yeast. Just give a gentle stir as you don't want to over work your yeast. Allow the yeast to proof for 4 to 6 minutes until it become frothy and bubbly.
bread1.jpg

once the yeast has proofed add your 1/2 cup oil. To the wet mixture I usually add about half my flour and salt. Incorporate the flour into the wet mixture. It should look like a lumpy nasty mixture. begin to add the remaining flour to the wet mixture. at this point I start using my kitchen aid mixture!if you don't have one - you can certainly kick it old school and continue with the spoon and then move to your hands. I will usually dump the dough ball out of the kitchen-aid and finish kneading it by hand. next step is to place the dough ball into a greased bowl to rise. I like to cover my dough with a wet paper towel and then regular dish towel. But, if you live in a humid environment this may not be necessary. I keep my dough on the my oven under the overhead light to proof for 1 hour.
bread2.jpg

Once your dough has risen for an hour its time to do my favorite part. "punch" the dough down. I usually just poke it a few times to release some of the gases. From here you will need to lay the dough out onto a floured surface for cutting.
Now, this recipe will make 4 large loaves. I don't happen to have all my large bread pans anymore. SO, I make two large loaves, two small loves and usually a round or braid loaf. I have also made bread rolls from this recipe too. Tis recipe should make approximately 75 bread rolls.

bread3.jpg

Once you have cut the dough, knead it a couple times each and form into the respective sized bread loaf.
Cover and let rise for an additional 30 minutes.
Next, bake for 30 minutes at 350 degrees F.

bread4.jpg

Loaves should be golden brown and smell AMAZING! I take them out of their pans immediately to cool.

Enjoy! If you make this recipe I would love to hear how your bread turned out. Next, I want to try and make an Ezekiel Bread.

Happy Homesteading Friends.

Sort:  

I love Amish Sweet bread, I grew up in the southern tier in New York and the Amish were an integral part of the community where my grandparents were from. Their jams and pies are to die for too! Great recipe, thank you I will be making some soon.

That is awesome @sunscape. I just moved from the Syracuse, NY area. There was an Amish store I loved to go to in Maddison County. Troyer's was the name of it I think. We always loved to get ourselves a sweet treat anytime we visited. I have acquired a few Amish cookbooks over the years too and enjoy many of their recipes. Much of which I use during canning season too.

i live near Rochester so that was not too far from you. You sound just like me, lol Baking, canning, growing my own food, then now I've added soap making to the mix. How much fun are we having? TONS!

We do sound a lot alike. I have been making soap now for just over 2 years. In addition to the soap I also make body butters, bath bombs, salves and beard oil. What is your favorite type of soap to make. I love a good Olive oil, shea and coconut oil mix. I have never used beef tallow or lard. I have 50 pounds of beef tallow sitting in my living room waiting for me to try it though. LOL I typically stick to vegan bath and body products though.

Oooh that bread looks so lovely, I can practically smell it! I'm a huge fan of homemade bread, for all the reasons you listed, plus the far superior taste! I've never tried making my own flour, but it's definitely something I could get into... I love making things from scratch. How do you grind your wheat berries? Food processor? And where do you get them? I'm intrigued.

Hi @offbeatbroad! I have an a grain mill attachment that goes on my kitchen aid. You can use a food processor though as long as it is a good quality one. I got the Wheat Berries on Amazon. Below is the link with the one I use in particular.
https://www.amazon.com/Non-GMO-Project-Verified-Non-Irradiated-Certified/dp/B001PEZLCM/ref=sr_1_6_a_it?ie=UTF8&qid=1515896058&sr=8-6&keywords=wheat+berries+organic
the fresh ground wheat flour has such an amazing flavor! I would strongly suggest you try it.
Thank you and happy bread making.

Ooh, thank you! I'm excited to look into this! I'll have to look into the kitchen-aid attachment too - we love those things. lol

You have received an upvote from @livesustainably. I promote and curate content that encourages and educates others in living sustainably.

Remember to use the tag #livesustainably so that I don't miss any posts you make on the theme of sustainability.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75