Cooking Lesson #7: How to Cook the Filipino Dish "Pork Sinigang"

in #cooking7 years ago (edited)

"Cooking Lesson #7: How to Cook the Filipino Dish Pork Sinigang"


Hello and welcome to another lesson of my cooking blog series. Today I would like to share to you my own version of Sinigang na Baboy or Pork Sinigang. Basically, sinigang is famous for its sour and savory taste which is often associated with tamarind.

What is Sinigang?


Own Version of Pork Sinigang

According to Wikipedia, sinigang is a Filipino soup-based dish known for its sour taste. This dish is also related to the Malaysian dish singgang. Also, history tells that the dish originates in Tagalog culture.

Various versions can also be found in different places of the country. For example, as for me, I always prefer adding ginger and prefer the sourness of the soup to be slight. So below, is my simple version of cooking Pork Sinigang.

What are the ingredients?


I use pork meat as our main ingredient while other people might also prefer fish for this. For our pork meat, I prefer the ones with bones. Just tell the vendor to cut it to small pieces or to any of your preferred sizes.

I bought this one below for only 75 pesos, that’s only $1.50 if you’d ask.

Then we need our complete spices. As I say, various versions of this dish can be found all over Philippines, thus spices may also vary. For my own version, you’ll need ginger, onions, spring onions, bell peppers, some chili peppers, cabbage and our Knorr Sinigang recipe mix.

You can also add salt if you also prefer the sourness of the soup to be mild. Of course we need to first, slice our spices accordingly.

The Procedure

The first thing to do is to soften our pork meat by boiling it slowly. You can also manually check the meat. Again, you can add any amount of salt; it all depends on your own preference.

Then as soon the meat becomes soft, add the sliced ginger, onions, the chili peppers and our Knorr Sinigang complete recipe mix. You can stick to traditional way of cooking this dish using tamarind.


Mix and homogenize the mixture by stirring it, then let it settle and boil for 10 to 15 minutes. After it boils, add the cabbage and the spring onions. You can also boil it a little longer if you want the cabbage to be not half cooked.

For me, I waited for another 5 to 10 minutes, checked the taste of the soup, adjusted it then I'm done! Our Pork Sinigang is ready! By the way, my Pork Sinigang might just looked like Nilagang Baboy but it is really Pork Sinigang haha!

Thank you for taking the time to read my cooking lesson of pork sinigang! If you want to read the previous lesson, CLICK HERE

Sort:  

my favorite food sinigang thank you for the post. pls make a recipe for adobo too. thanks!

I have an adobo recipe, just CLICK HERE.

looks very delicious! : )
I will visit Cebu, philippines! in March. If I have a opportunity, I want to take a lesson! Have a good day! : ) 😘

Sadly I am not from Cebu.

this is very informative! thank you for sharing the recipe~ this is my fav!

Lamia 😋😋😋😋

maau kayo ka moluto bai, congratulations!

Simbako hehehe.

Awesome soup. Full of vitamins and protein. So healthy

What is it?

That's called Pork Sinigang :)

in malaysia singgang very famous in terengganu area, recipes from generation to generation, have you ever been to terengganu? There we will easy to find this food,

I've never been in Malaysia, I hope I could visit your country soon. DO you know how to cook singgang?

yes I know, hopefully you can, and do not forget Indonesia too☺️☺️

Are you from Malaysia or Indonesia?

I’m from indonesia,but I still working in malaysia about 6 years ago as cook,ehhehe at restaurant...so because that I know a little bit how to cook malaysian food😅

Yummy! Thanks for sharing silingan! :)

Salamat, you from Iligan?

I'm from Cagayan de Oro :)

i loove sinigang!!! but.... do you know how to do it with the mix? I cant get the mix in Australia... and can I use lamb? :D

Mix? What mix? I don't know if you can use lamb hahaha. I've never tried it hahaha.

uuuyy yung packet ni mama sita. wala kami nun 😢 kung wala ano pwede bai?

Ahh yung Knorr na Sinigang Mix? Hahaha you can do it the traditional way, you can use tamarind pampa sour hehehe. JUST CLICK HERE FOR THE PROCESS

OMG THIS GUY IS TRIPPING ME OUT!!!

He speaks better Tagalog than me...

#ohtheshame

Ahahahaha you should study Tagalog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77