Marmalade time folks. End of January, Seville oranges were in season, time for making Marmalade!!!

in #cookery6 years ago (edited)

40927054482_18f9ac4aec_o.jpgAs Seville oranges arrived in the shops at the end of January I bought some to make Marmalade. Seville oranges ar packed with pectin which when heated becomes a thickening agent, so, you don't need anything artificial. This is a perfect natural nutritious preserve excellent on toast for breakfast. so here's how I made it.
marmalade_39645844504_o.jpg
I placed 1.5K or Seville oranges in a large jam kettle ( a thick bottomed large wide saucepan), some recipes say halve the oranges, bugger that, just put em in. I scarred the skins with a sharp knife, to allow the oils and flavours to seep into the water more easily.
I brought them to the boil for about ten minutes, and turned off the heat, and let it stand for about 2 hours, whilst I made a nice cup of tea.

marmalade_38546784890_o.jpg
Using a scoop to take the oranges out of the jam kettle.

Then I took the oranges out, put them in a colander over a bowl, to let the juices drip out,marmalade_39645839124_o.jpg let them cool a bit,

marmalade_39459482505_o.jpg
and chopped them in half.
marmalade_39459475525_o.jpg
once they were all cut in half, I put a muslin cloth over a bowl, ready for the next step.

marmalade_39645831634_o.jpg
Using a spoon, I spooned out the insides which I placed in the muslin cloth I'd placed over a bowl.
marmalade_40311224912_o.jpg
When I'd finished scooping the insides out, I tied the muslin cloth and placed it in the Jam Kettle, ( large saucepan in case you forgot)

The insides, or pith, and seeds are where all the essential pectin is stored, and the cloth ensures it doesn't make the marmalade creamy coloured, and mushy, whilst letting the pectin through. marmalade_40356672921_o.jpgby keeping the stuff well wrapped up. After that it was time for a cup of tea.
marmalade_39645823704_o.jpg
before getting my fingers covered in Orange juice. chopping time!!
I chopped up the orange skin, I chopped larger slices, cause thats the way , aha aha I like it.
(chop them to whatever size you prefer in your marmalade.)

marmalade_39645812874_o.jpgThen place all the slices you want into the Jam Kettle.

Because the oranges had been simmering for about 2 hours, some of the water will have evaporated, so add some more to bring it up to the same level as before.

Then I brought it to the boil for 15 mins,
Then I lowered the heat and simmered the lot for about and hour and a half.
marmalade_40356669771_o.jpg
Oh I also added two lemons, I forgot to tell you that.I squeezed all the juices out of the muslin cloth using a wooden spoon in the colander. as it was too hot to use my hands.

Then when the liquid was reduced by about half, I took out the muslin bag, squeezed all the juice back in the pan. there's all the extracted pectin, so now its all ready and looking a nice orangey colour ready for thickening.

Then I added about 2.5k of sugar. Due to the high pectin content, you don't need to buy special jam sugar, any sugar will do, I used normal white granulated. Also sugar content depends on how sweet you like your marmalade darlings.

If you prefer a dark marmalade, use a dark sugar, simple isn't it.

Here's the fun bit, nearly all recipes online read " Bring it to the boil and boil rapidly for 15min or until setting point is reached " What??? setting point, whats that...

Its simple, once the pectin has been activated by the heat, it will start to thicken the mix, but its hard to tell when its hot.

So this is what you do..
After about 15 mins, take a spoonful of the liquidy marmalade, and tip it on a cold plate or saucer. then after a couple of minutes when its cooled, run your finger along it and it it wrinkles up, its ready, if it doesn't, boil it some more.
40968344891_7f8c1d3e68_o.jpg
from here on it its test test test..
if you boil it too much your marmalade will thicken so much when it cools you won't get a knife in it, so you'll need to put the lot back in the pan and water it down.

OK where was I? Oh yes.marmalade_25484583217_o.jpg
Jam jars ( preserving jars)

I saved loads of jars during the autumn from jam and all sorts of things,
Wash them, sterilise them (boiling water is good for that) whats the point in buying jam jars when you must have some in the house, well I did.

Then pour in the liquid marmalade into each jar.
I filled them to the top and put a little paper disk on top.
those you can get from catering shops or supermarkets etc. they seal the top so no oxygen comes into contact with the marmalade, which could cause mould to grow.marmalade_40311219902_o.jpg

Put the lids on, and there you go Marmalade a la Seville!!

Oh make some toast, butter it, then be the first kid on your block to taste the fantastic Seville marmalade.

Like me you will end up giving some away to freinds. they will love you for it, Honest.!

Sort:  

Hey @magiclive, great post! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! Cheers :)

Thanks, I just saw some terrible typos so I am re editing, come back and check the finished one ... soon.

Congratulations @magiclive! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You have a minor typo in the following sentence:

Like me you will end up giving some away to freinds.
It should be friends instead of freinds.

Congratulations @magiclive! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @magiclive! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59110.01
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72