Comic Conventions Are More Than They Seem

in #conventions6 years ago

denvercomic con.png

So as it’s been one week since Denver Comic Con I thought that I should write a little more about the convention. Did you know that many authors go to Comic book conventions? That’s right Comic Conventions are more than just about Comics.

Why is this so important to for writers and creatives? Well first off they had panels dedicated to Authors, yes that’s right there where the panel’s that were geared for all us writers. There where not just one or a few but a total of 89 of them. So that being said you can see why going to something like this might be a good idea to go to. For your information, I was not able to go to all the panels only as some of them were at the same time as others, but every panel I did attend I was able to take away something from each of them. I also was able to meet some other great writers and artists at each of them.

To give you an idea of the panels that they had here is a listing of some of the ones I attended:

Indie Book Publishing - What’s It’s All About
Common Writing Pitfalls & How to Avoid Them
Making History Come Alive for Teens
Bookmaking in Multi-Cultural Lit
Dystopian Novels - Building Apocalyptic Vision
Become Authorpreneur: Business of Writing
How to Protect Your Work
Build Marketing Plan for Creative Endeavor
Writing from Shadows

All of these panels were amazing and the people who ran each of them really just wanted to share the information that they had. They invited questions and if they hadn’t been able to get to your questions they told you where you talk with them after the panel was completed. The authors that I spoke to personally were brilliant and gave me some new ideas on how to do things a bit differently, including branding and ways to go when publishing.

I urge you to check out the conventions in your area and see if they have anything that is for authors because you never know. I felt like the Denver Comic Con really has helped me in improving my craft. Next years Denver Comic Con dates have been set for May 31 - June 2, 2019, so save the date. Maybe we will run into one another next year.

Sort:  

I've learned a lot about conventions in the last year or so. An author friend of mine posts about them (and she attends as an author and was on the Dystopian Novels - Building Apocalyptic Vision panel IIRC)

It has been really interesting to learn about the conventions from behind the scenes after years of taking my kids in their cosplays as attendees!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72