The Continuation...

in #continuation6 years ago

graciawag31

Yes! This is a continuation. A continuation of my introductory post.

"To travel places is what my heart wants while serving the people is what my heart needs."

I told you that I came from a big family. But most of my relatives are now leaving in the city. We are the only direct family that my grandparents are leaving with here in Olango Island. My grandparents' house is just a neighborhood. Therefore, we grew up along with the beliefs and descipline of our grandparents.

My Lolo and Lola (grandparents) were a public servants back then. They were one of the Barangay Kagawad (Barangay Officials) and was used of helping other people. I grew up seeing people reaching out to them. I guess this is one of the norms if you are living in an island.

So there it goes, my Lolo introduced me to that world. Without even knowing I was already registered as one of the SK Councilor (Sangguniang Kabataan).

FB_IMG_1516781511965.jpg

It was year 2012 when I became one of the SK councilors. It was our duty to serve the youths. To provide guidance, to host beneficial activities and of course to be a respectable and accountable leaders.

Honestly, it was a tiring job. Youths in our barangay were too lazy to cooperate. However, it was a fulfilling job. The fact that you were able to help, to encourage and to motivate the youths makes you feel a worthy person (no dramas).

FB_IMG_1516781481475.jpg

Talima Youth Disaster Awareness Program

This activity was held in our Barangay last September 2017. Since Philippines has been known for its inexhaustible number of deadly calamities, our team decided to host a training program that would impart basic knowledge on how to survive in times of disaster. A basic learning in first aid and in survival would surely help our youths. In that way, they would be able to help other folks in our barangay too.

FB_IMG_1517478377546.jpg

Our barangay is divided into 14 small groups (or sityo in Cebuanon term). This hinder the possibility of getting along with other members of each sityo. The division of the barangay leads to the miscommunication of the youths. This is also the reason why there is a gap between youths. We really encourage our youths to attend this kind of activity as well as other programs of the barangay for them to bond with other youths of each sityo.

FB_IMG_1517478397150.jpg

To work for the public means to work without getting paid. Yes, we don't get paid for this job. But in the end of the day you will see the true meaning and the main purpose of what you are doing . The smile of the youth is your motivator and the sincerity of their thank yous is your drive to go on and keep serving.

This is what it takes to be a public servant. It needs willingness and desire.

received_1846604085412020.png

Gracias ✔

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64664.97
ETH 3401.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31