IFC Side Quest

in #contest6 years ago


Artwork credit - @yeszuzia on steemit and instagram

It is a joy for me to write this post as I am quite fond of and loyal to the IFC Community as a whole.

You might say I am biased by the fact that I won the Final round, however that has little to do with my feelings towards the IFC. Of course, that was mighty exciting and the ultimate cherry on top.

Actually, the joy and deep appreciation I feel is more grounded in the concept and dream that is anchored in the modest beginnings of the IFC. @apolymask was the original dream-seeder who was so passionate about his vision for the IFC, that it quickly took off and inspired others to join in and help this wonderful community grow.

Where I came in was in my early days of Steemit. The end of March 2018. I really had no idea what I was doing on Steemit nor what I would be doing on Steemit. Like so many others, I had no clue what I could offer this larger community nor really how others would respond to what I offered.

As it turned out, I had beginners luck with a few posts which gave me some confidence to write more.

Then I noticed a few posts from the IFC with some interesting topics and decided to give it a try. I think it was on Freedom. What a great 'topic'!

The experience from this entry was so positive and inspiring to me. Not only did I get quite a bit of feedback from @apolymask, but from others in the community. I thoroughly enjoyed this engagement and the discussions with others that I was truly inspired - All the comments were thought-provoking and incredible.

So for me, the IFC became my impression of Steemit itself and because of this, I felt compelled to write more, share and learned to love Steemit through my experience with the IFC.

What I love about the IFC

What's not to love?! The topics and quests stretch contestants to try new skills, research new topics, learn and sometimes even push themselves outside of their comfort zones. I learned so much through this experience that I will forever be grateful. My family even became involved in some of the quests as we found ourselves going on adventures to capture all the items in the photo scavenger hunt - from hunting caves to capturing the impossible lightning bolt - we had some pretty awesome memories created!

I do hope that the IFC continues to grow and be a big part of our wonderful Steemit Community. Yes, I am biased - but that is only because it has given me so much and I love to watch others growing and enjoying themselves through each quest.

I look forward to what Season 2 brings and every other season there after! MORE MORE MORE!

Sort:  

I'm glad you enjoyed the scavenger hunt! I brought it in and was unsure how it would go but I feel like most people enjoyed that one quite a bit! I'm sure we'll have some scavenger rounds in Season 2 when it gets started!

Hi @kryptocek! This really was a lot of fun! So happy to hear that it will be making a come-back.

No promises yet but I think @apolymask enjoyed it as well so I hope he brings it back! :)

I definitely wanna do the scavenger hunt quests more in the future! Those are some of the best ones in my opinion and many other people said they were a lot of fun as well.

That's awesome! Looking forward to them and participating in season two down the road! :)

Great entry! I think the IFC is one of the most inclusive projects on the platform.
I really love that the quest are so varied. I really need to make a point of becoming more involved. I can see already how it could be a learning experience.

Yes, there is something for everyone! That's what makes it a unique contest/community. Hope you join in Season 2, @headchange

Nice job!!! (and congrats on being the season 1 winner hehehe) we will be cheering for you (and others from WW ???) for season 2 :)

Thank ya, @dreemsteem!

Oh, I truly hope everyone at the WW joins in! It really is a lot of fun. Some people have been throwing around the idea of having a group vs group quest, too!

I think a few of them have to enter toying with the idea!!!! We will see! Hehehe

I can't...you know what I'm up to my eyeballs in 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I know you're very busy! :) LOL

well well well..what a nice surprise, a post from Miss youhavewings! A delightful one at that even though I know nothing about IFC. lol.

Keep your eyes out for the beginning of next season, it was a lot of fun to do. You might enjoy it. We had post from carrots dancing on a nose to epic curied post, and I even wrote a song for it. @ifc, browse through a few of the entries, especially how tough and well thought out and done were the ending rounds, some amazing post from all the ladies.

thank you bashadow I'll watch for it!

I heard about your song, @bashadow - I would love to hear it. I missed all that excitement early on but from what I hear, it was pretty incredible and epic. Congratulations.

Hi there @janton! I have sure missed talking to you.

I've been away for a week. Working my way up to writing about it. Lost our beloved dog, Bayley. The whole family was grieving, even Emmy. But we are doing much better now although miss him horribly.

I do hope you participate in the IFC this season - should be starting any time now. It's truly a fun experience (especially for INFJ's) LOL - I think you would really enjoy yourself. And you don't have to do every quest, just the ones that peek your interest - try it! You never know, you might just get your Curie ;) Just jump in and have fun.

Say hello to Mrs. J for me - been thinking about you two and your project. Hope all is going well.

howdy again youhavewings! hey this is perfect timing for your question about our project. Mrs. J started her jailer job today! Yes it was very interesting indeed. She didn't do much, they had her studying their manual which is a huge book, she was doing that all day until the last couple of hours and then she shadowed the man in charge.

She was supposed to be trained by a lady who they all raved about, but she is out with pneumonia!

But her impressions are very positive. They had her reading in the breakroom so everyone who came in introduced themselves and talked to her, she had big wigs from the offices above the jail coming down to talk with her.

Rural Texas isn't exactly overly friendly. First thing we noticed, especially the women are totally different than anyplace we've ever lived. They are very stand offish, not friendly at first, don't talk, etc. so it's been hard to find friends.

Well Mrs. J comes back tonight and she says "I found out where all the friendly people in Texas are!" lol. In the jails. She said everyone was wonderful and friendly. So I think it's going to be a good thing like we thought. God directed.

I'm so sorry to hear about your 4 legged family member, that's so painful.
You guys are Christians right? That has to do with the pet, I had some things to say about that.
It's so good to hear from you!

Hey there, @janton

This is such great news! We kind of knew she'd get the job, huh? I'm so happy that things are in flow for your wonderful project.

I would have thought all of Texas had the same wonderful hospitality and friendly attitude. That's interesting. I suppose Alabama was like that when I first moved there - smaller towns tend to have a close knit community and culture that feel uneasy about outsiders coming in. Do you think that's the case there?

I hope Mrs. J finds more areas of friendliness there. Sometimes it just takes a while for people to get to know you.

Thank you for your words about Bayley.

Christian? That's a complicated question. I'm not really into labels or being a part of religion, but I am very spiritual and am baptized Greek Orthodox - my great grandfather was a priest, but I walk my own path of the heart. I would appreciate anything that you have to say, Janton :)

It's always good to hear from you, too!

howdy tonight youhavewings! sorry it took awhile to get back to you. Yes Mrs. J is excited and so far she has been amazed that everyone she's met from the different departments have been totally nice and friendly, the feeling is that anyone who works in any branch of the overall law enforcement community is family whether it's the courts, the jail system, the police force, the parole officers or whatever and we really like that.

The people here locally though, we don't know what the problem is. The men are fine. It's the women who are marked unfriendly and it takes awhile to get to know them.

Oh about the dog. I was just going to say that for Believers I think it's encouraging and comforting to know that our dogs are in heaven. Some people reject that because it isn't spelled out in the Bible although there are animals in heaven.

But I'm sure you're familiar with the stories of people dying and going to heaven but are sent back because it isn't their time yet?
We've been hearing those for many years and some of them, some of the most believable accounts have said that they saw their dogs that had passed away.

The last one I read about it was a man and he said to the Angel that was with him.."hey I thought dogs couldn't be in heaven because they don't have spirits" and the Angel told him that was wrong. . . that dog's DO have spirits, they are just a different kind of spirit.

Anyway, I've read enough reliable accounts about this that I'm totally convinced. And to me, it's just another way that God shows us how much He loves us.
I mean, I think He created dogs just for us. Why else would they be so good for us and to us? So many have saved the lives of their owners.
anyway that's what I wanted to say because I think it's very encouraging to know that your dogs will be there anxiously waiting for you just like passed on loved ones.

Thanks for sharing youhavewings! I really enjoyed reading that. I've received some pretty powerful feedback in the past from a number of people, though yours was uniquely powerful in it's own way and it's cool to hear the perspective of the one who won the whole championship!

To be straight forward.. This post of yours right here.. Sorta made the whole thing worth it to me. Not just this post, there were so many other things and other testimonials similar to yours that made it worth it for me where people learned and went on adventures with their family and such, though this individual story of yours to me.. Made all the work and difficulty worth it.

With my movies I always say.. "If I reach even one person it was worth it". And I feel the same about the IFC.. Even if it helps just one person in some way.. Then it was worth it. I'm happy to say that quite a few people have told me they have learned from this game and have been helped in some way and your story absolutely was/is great!

Thank you so much for being a part of our community and playing in our game. :) I look forward to seeing what happens next season as well, and every other season after that. :D

All true. Inspiring always to see someone's passions take root (and even those we're unaware of)- potent stuff!

I remember @bashadow 's story as well - so I know I'm not the only one that feels this way about the IFC.

It's a win/win for those that participate and the IFC as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25