What is your greatest achievement to date? - STEEMIT CONTEST - Week 3

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Once again, thanks to all of you who took part in Week 2 of the competition! The winner of the contest was @botefarm (see last post).


The question for week 3 is:

What is your greatest achievement to date?


Please only choose one of your many achievements :-)



The aim of this contest is to inspire other people in the steemit community who are interested in self development and pushing themselves to achieve greatness. 


I’ll kick this off:


Without a doubt my greatest achievement was climbing Mount Kinabalu.
I've only climbed one mountain so far and even though I was over prepared for the climb, when I was half way I becam  100% convinced I wouldn't be able to make into the peak because of various things. Somehow I did. Even with bad knees and all sorts. It is the thing I am most proud of because climbing a mountain really isn't about physical abilities - as strange as that sounds. It's almost entirely mental. You can read more about my experience here.


How about you guys?


WHAT IS THE CONTEST:

Each week I will ask one question which is focussed on self development or progression. The idea is to inspire you, by reading other people's posts, and to inspire others who read yours!


RULES:

1. Upvote the post - this is the beginning of this contest and I don't know how it's going to go. But by upvoting we'll have more money to spread around.

2. Comment a direct answer to the question in the comments section

3. Comment on one other person's comment, in the comment section, with either a thoughtful question or thoughtful reply. Please avoid answers such as 'nice' 'cool' etc. 

4. (Optional) - Resteem this post so it gets more attraction and I can have runners up in future! :-)


SIMPLE. The winner will receive 1 SBD for week 3.


I will distribute the money 7 days after this post has expired. You have 7 days to take part!


Good luck and do help to share the contest so we can grow it and get some cash out there to you steemians!

Excited to hear your answers to this one! Winner will get 1 SBD!

Once I gain more attraction from the post I will start to give out more SBD and also have runners up too!


Yasmine

Sort:  

My biggest achievement is personal to me. Not something that someone would regard as an achievement. My grandpa is a hawker. A very famous one in Port Klang. He fries a local dish called char koay teow. Since I was young he would always have one dish for me with the extra cockles and beansprouts and the people queing up will ask how come that kid gets to cut the queue. He would tell them, well you guys are not my grandson right?

When he fell ill and was hospitalised I would visit him after my class which is something like 1.30 p.m. and its still visiting hours. One day it rained so heavily and I usually cycle to see him from school. That day my tyre ran flat and the rain was preventing everyone from leaving school compound unless of course daddy or mummy comes in their car.

I braved the rain and walked 8 kilometres to the hospital. Way past visiting hours and the guard seeing me drenched in rain didn't have the heart to deny me entry. When I saw my grandpa in his bed he asked me,

'Good thing you came, I needed someone to buy me my newspaper'

He was too weak to walk but he always make sure he is abreast with the latest news. I went down and bought him his papers and I saw him tearing up. He didn't expect me to still visit him in that weather. He passed away not long thereafter but before he died, he told me that I am his favourite. That meant the world to me.

That's a beautiful story @perennial. And I just loved your grandpa's response to when you finally got there - reminded me a little bit of my grandpa. Every time my sister and I visit we get him plenty of food and cook for 1-2 months ahead of time (ever since our granny passed away).

I think its always the grandpa and grandma that spoils us the most.

It is indeed. No one cooks better than your babushka (grandma)!

I am pretty sure she is the best cook known to you. Just like how my grandma cooks the best spareribs known to mankind.

That's truly beautiful @perennial thank you for sharing such a personal story. Your grandad sounds like a very witty man. and char koay teow is my favourite dish to eat in Malaysia! :-)

yes, he is a very smart man. Didn't have any formal education yet he is able to read the chinese dailies. The people in the neighbourhood call him the dog man, because he is more into dogs than humans. He would play with them and feed them. I would invite you to try his char koay teow if he is still around.

Sounds like a really fascinating man. I'm sorry for your loss. I'm with him on that.. also not so into humans these days haha.

Wow... Keep this up dear. Its mind provoking.
Sometimes we really need to look back and allow our past success to motivate for more exploits in life.
Personal my achievement for the past few months has been coming out of my comfort zone to have a new skill in the tech arena.
I studied chemistry in school but time especially with this whole blockchain revolution i realised getting knowledge in coding would be of great benefit now and in the future.

So i stepped up some of my friends whom i felt would be of help as per tutorship in coding but the look on some of their face were a bit discouraging. "That business has chemistry with coding", some would tease with me.
So i decided to go out on my own to get this thing done no matter what it would require of me.
To cut the long story i now very comfortable and familiar with the javascript environment, python and the rest of other softwares related to coding. My mind was made up get it done and i thinks door of opportunity to learn are opening and am looking forward to interacting more with the core of blockchain and building my own DAPPS someday.

Thanks @yasminep for coming up with this.

Great to hear you're a fan of the competition @samuelwealth! :-)
That's awesome that you taught yourself to code. Good for you! Glad you took part in this. Just a gentle reminder to comment one someone else's post too as part of the comp!

That's very cool, Samuel. You must have had an incredible drive and dedication to switch to coding. Very impressive. Have you built anything yet?

Not yet dear. i just started 6 days ago and i been quit challenging cus am a novice but am catching up gradually. Its been fun all the way i must say especially as my eyes are now open to understanding the basis (which at first i thought would be very complex). I have found out its not good most of the time to just assume and do nothing about something.

i am taking it one step at on time and its been quit a good adventure i must say.
Hello @ingaa how are you doing.

Think one of my biggest achievements was coming to England at the age of 14 (being able to speak a little bit) and getting a scholarship 2 years later after passing my GCSEs and saving my dad 50% on tuition fees.

I will never forget my first Physics class (I have never even studied Physics in Latvia), yet alone I had to learn it in a foreign language, "Current? What on earth is that?" - haha.

It was a big deal - studying abroad and I was, and still am very lucky to have had that opportunity. Guess apart from saying 'thank you' - I wanted to prove to my dad how much appreciated it. Actions speak louder than words, right? :-)

Thats amazing your dad must be so proud its hard to leave the comfort of home and building a new life in a foreign land. Keep reaching for the stars

Thank you @fmlife - as a kid you adapt a lot quicker so it can only be a good thing!

True. are you still in the U.K

Yes, I am but not for too long, maybe another 2-3 years :-)

Wow. That's so true, Ings. Plus you did a degree at an AMAZING uni in a language which wasn't your mother tongue. Also INSANELY AMAZING!

Haha, that also. Thank you, hun! Let's hope my next achievement will be business related

wow...

being able to speak a little bit

smiling... it always feel good speaking another persons language my dear. I makes you bond easier with the natives.

My greatest achievement is an ongoing one traveling all over the world and teach kids to speak, read and write English when I see the look of excitement on their face when they start to understand and are able to talk about their lives (in a basic way) its is truly rewarding and a moment of pride in yourself and the children.

That's amazing. I've always had so much respect for people who are able to do that. Where have you taught English or other languages so far? :-)

Funny enough I taught in London at a Language school in 2010, I also taught in Japan, Korea, China, Taiwan, Thailand,Vietnam, Canada (my home country), and USA,

That's awesome! You get to travel and do something meaningful in life :-)

So many things to learn in different places I cant imagine staying in one place and never travel

That is amazing @fmlife! Wow. That must feel amazing! Good for you!

Yeah it does !
Actually today is my last day of teaching in Korea so I have to say goodbye to all of those kids.
That is so heartbreaking always having to say goodbye never staying in one place for too long but the overall experience is a positive one. No regrets!

That must be tough. Wishing you an awesome last day!

Thanks it was tough and i havent read their goodbye letters havent had the heart to look at those yet

Nice one @yasminep
I started out planning to hike up Mt Kinabalu in June and somewhere along the way the plan changed to Everest Base Camp at the end of this year 😅. I’ll remember that it’s a mental challenge more than a physical one .. thank you for sharing.

My greatest achievement to date would be taking care of my mum in her last year. This while taking care of the kids and their 311 things.
Mum was very sick and very dependant. But because she had dementia we didn’t want strangers around her as she would sometimes even forget us and it scared her.
Concerned friends told me I was crazy to run on 2 hour sleep per night and I should either put her in a home or get some help. But I just couldn’t do that to her and I kept on going as challenging as it was.
To be honest I didn’t know I had it in me 😊

That's amazing, @kaerpediem. Truly beautiful. Family is everything at the end of the day. My heart would break if a close one stopped recognising me...

Thank you @ingaaa
Yes family is everything and I keep drumming this into the kids ... my wish for them is that they can count on each other, that they’d be there for each other 😊

I thin Everest Base Camp and Mt Kinabalu are very close in height, but I imagine EBC to be a much greater challenge in terms of trekking. Hope you'll write about it on steemit? :-)
As far as your achievement goes, wow! That's so beautiful @kaerpediem. A truly remarkable thing to do. Thank you for sharing this with us all and taking part!

I’m going with my brother who has already been there twice so I think it should be good and yes will share ...😊
I feel what I did for her was nothing compared to all that she did for us, ... I guess most people feel that way about their mother ...

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94