Wisdom of a Tree Bunny

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

image

She sat on a long branch of an old eucalyptus among the slender leaves waiting for a visitor. The visit she knew was likely. They came from all corners of the land seeking advice. She tried to help - by sharing her knowledge, experience, and learned tricks - all of them. Whether they understood, she couldn’t tell. However, each thanked her by leaving a token of food or a gift torn from their clothes.

She stared at her visitor, who climbed the various branches, sitting across from her. She moved her mouth and met his eyes. He felt love.

“Will I meet my beloved,” he asked.

The same question. In a previous life, she might have laughed. She wanted Marc Anthony. There was no need to second guess he would be her beloved. As Casanova, each lover knew she was loved. As Hugh, he gave women a channel to seduce. Each man knew the centerfold model loved him.

She twitched a whisker and upturned a cheek. She reached up to chew a leaf.

He tried to understand. “You think I already know her?”

She quickly looked at him and rose on her hind legs. Then she went back to chewing her leaf.

“It’s Maria, the baker’s daughter. I thought she might.”

She tried to smile because they usually figured it out.

He climbed to the ground where a group gathered each waiting their turn to visit the trusted advisor.

“Tell me friend,” asked a stranger. “Did she answer your question?”

“Without a doubt, she is the most intelligent and honest tree bunny and gave me a most true answer.”

Copyright © 2018 Michael Shawn Sommermeyer

Photo Mine

alt

Day 210: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: Tree by @mariannewest

DQmY73bhwxZbFPVvGvGshKPCtEzK7fseuHjaxCDEW4fB6Pe.png
Click on the image to join the fun!

DQmZh1AG34S6gD7B5mZVWjWXk4zWPhCVxWjyxwHsMobV457_1680x8400.jpg

DQmNihVfTnrubWwTvMtgypUFH3YH4yvj8XeiMKyU2m5GAyb_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

I want to know how the bunny got into the tree, please. It certainly is just as good a place as any other for a wisdom-imparting hare.

She’s very wise. And a good hopper.

Tree Bunny

It climbed up there. Actually, I saw a Japanese art print once with bunnies in trees. I’m on my phone; I’ll have to look for it.

Had me thinking it was a woman until she stood up on her hind legs :)

I love that you loved the surprise.

happy story. Thanks! I needed to read one of those

She's a delightful smart Bunny! Adorable story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57899.97
ETH 3059.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29