Sort:  

I'm curious as to what do you mean by self votes? Those who have a lot of SP and upvote their own posts instead of upvoting others?

Everyone should upvote their own content, but the ones that only do and will comment on others without any vote given (like/hate - let them know). When you use a site like steemworld.org and the self votes for someone are in the 70% and up, how does that encourage others?

Everything is broken, you have million+ SP accounts delegating only to bots, you have people with lots of SP only voting for a few friends with similar SP, and so on. And then you see them vote trading even in the comments section, people try to vote for notable/already wealthy people to get support back in popular threads, it's all pretty disgusting.

I didn't know about this, I guess running this contest will be a good learning experience. In a way it sounds like it mimics real world economics where the rich get richer and the poor continue to struggle to make a dime.

I didn't realize that voting is basically monopolized here by the SP wealthy.

You'll probably get a good perspective on how users who need the money experience the platform.

It does, it really does, wealth concentrations in crypto are terrible across the board and we're no exception to the rule. A handful of accounts own most of all the SP that's powered up, and singular votes can make or break someone's chance to be a top 20 witness.

Because of the not-so-elaborate pattern of the thinly veiled vote-for-vote players with similar SP levels here, small SP players just get by trying to enter as many contests and creating content for any of the curation orgs/dapps they are able to. It really doesn't help that only a 0.02 STU vote or above cashes out at time of payout, anything below that is rounded down to 0, and with over 300 SP I barely do 0.03 votes at max power so unless minnows were more coordinated it's harder for them to help each other out with their starting 15 SP.

The last major breakdown of whale voting patterns I've seen showed it was kind of split, where some whales just power themselves up, and some whales vote or delegate to community projects. But everyone seems to be cashing out at least a little on the side as a hedge as the price falls.

Do you know that initially, 15SP used to give $0.01 upvote? Suddenly everything has changed. With 300sp you can barely give $0.03 upvote. That is bad news for those of us who are way below that.

Our chance of growth is pretty slim. We just have to keep doing what is right.

I agree, @newhyt, to do right although everybody or the most do bad. So we will have a clear conscience

Yeah when I started it was around 0.01 to zero depending on the day. It really is, they need to make it so it doesn't round down to zero, it is really discouraging for everyone. It used to take more steem to create an account as well, now it's only 0.1, used to be 0.5, and was even more before that.

Ah I haven't heard of steemworld.org, I'll look at it shortly. I can understand that, only upvoting yourself and not upvoting others can be discouraging for your followers and those who upvote your content. When I first started I tried to upvote everyone who commented on my contest / introduction posts. Though I shortly found out that you actually have a voting power meter that's refilled over time so your votes are worth more.

Since then I've been trying to vote less so I can give more to those who engage in my content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00