Contest: Guess the species #1! $5 SBD to the winner!

in #contest7 years ago

It has been a while since the last time I hosted a contest, so now I decided to do one again!. It should be pretty simple to enter, and anyone can join by commenting below. If people like it, then I will probably do a few more in the coming weeks, so let me know if you think this stuff is cool, or if it's just a waste of blog space.

Contest rules

  • Try to correctly identify the species in the picture(s) below.
  • Post the scientific name. If you only know the local name, search for it in Google and you will find the scientific name easily.
  • Only one guess per contestant. If you change your mind then edit your post, don't make a new one.
  • Upvote this post before you enter. It does not matter if you use a low vote weight, so just upvote 1% if you don't want to support the contest.

I will run the contest for 72 hours, and then I will pick a random person who guessed the correct species. The winner will receive 5SBD sent to their Steemit account, and a new post with the winner announcement will be made. The money is provided by @valth personally, so the winner will get them even if this post make less than this amount, so don't worry about not getting paid :)

Guess the species #1

This first contest is not particularly difficult, especially if you live in the Northern Hemisphere where this plant is very common to find during the spring and early summer. Just type in the scientific name to enter the contest. Good luck!

DSC_0629 – Kopi.JPG

Here's another picture with a large group of them.

DSC_0630.JPG

Both images are taken by @valth in Norway, sometime during the first half of the summer.

Sort:  

Btw, great initiative, I like the simplicity and theme of this contest 👍

Thanks, I'm glad to hear that you liked the contest! However, I'm very unsure if I will do any more, because very few people entered :(

Just a wild guess.. anemone hepatica

Nice guess! You were right with the genus, but not with the species. Sadly you don't win, but you get an upvote for the attempt ;) Thanks for participating @howtostartablog! The full winner announcement post can be read by clicking here.

Anemone nemorosa 🌼

This is the correct answer! But sadly you were unlucky when I drew the winner :( Sorry! But thank you for participating. The full winner announcement post can be read by clicking here.

No worries, hopefully I can join your nex contest ;) *hint, hint 😉

Haha, that's a really subtle hint :P

I'm the queen of discreet ;)

petal or corolla or Minuartia verna

Is it Windflower (Anemone blanda) ‘White Splendour’?

You had the correct genus, but wrong species. Thanks for participating @coolguy123! The full winner announcement post can be read by clicking here.

Anemone nemorosa :)

This is correct! And you were also the lucky winner @alvheid. Congratulations! I sent you 5SBD as the winning prize. The full winner announcement post can be read by clicking here.

Wow, that's great!

@ornima has upvoted this post with a reply.
I hope you check my last post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63033.54
ETH 2434.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54