You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Angels That Live Among Us [Entry for writing contest by @averageoutsider]

in #contest6 years ago

I love your look on this. It has true value. Life is not cookie cutter, just because people envision something one way doesn't mean it's correct.

Your view is genuine. I can tell you from personal experience it can be hard sometimes to be empathic. Some people are just so overwhelming with what they are feeling, that you can't block or shield from them. Others just feel safe talking to you, like it's not issue. My husband thinks it's weird that strangers come up and talk to me and want to touch. It just makes me want to stay home.

Depending on what's going on sometimes it's hard to know if your own feelings or you have taken on someone else's. You're right about the feelings everything is more intense. Passion for me is probably the hardest. I don't mean like intimacy. I mean being the best me I can be. To be the best at what I do. To believe in something so strongly that you become emotional on so many different levels. With that unfortunately comes anger. Since people don't understand you or where you're coming from they then put down that which is different rather than listen.

The sad part is a lot of people don't realize they are empathic, they think there is something wrong with them, they don't understand why their feelings are so intense. Just like on there are so many that don't believe there is such a thing. That's ok, you don't have to. As you have mentioned when you meet one and you can feel that connection, most of the time you know things are going to be ok.

I guess this is harder to explain than I thought it would be. I know several empaths, of all levels. Some have studied, some haven't.

Like one of the popular quotes, 'Always be kind to others, since you don't have any idea what they are going through. ' This is one of those cases.

Sort:  

I feel you. It's sad that those rare people who are potentially the only 'healers' left in the world, are clouded by self-doubt and anxiety and they think something is wrong with them when in reality that something is actually a skill; one which very few people posses.

Even though I haven't really met a lot of empaths in my life, I know for a fact that they do exist. Sadly, most are usually in this miserable condition of overwhelming depression and mental illness. It genuinely hurts me to know that someone who just wants to help and love and spread happiness in the word, is left unloved, unappreciated and taken for granted.

That's the reason why I always try to give reassurance to these people and try to teach them when to serve and when to go bold. It doesn't matter how big your heart is if you can't protect it. You can't help others if you can't even help yourself. I learned this when I stopped standing up for other people's shit when I finally realized that some people just don't wanna change. They don't want to serve, but only to be served.

But I think as long as we keep reminding ourselves that there are indeed people in this world who care, people who actually give a shit and are not borderline narcissist, we can still have hope.

P.S. Thank you so so much leaving such an honest and empathetic comment. Readers like you are the reason I feel safe when sharing my personal views. Really grateful!

There are people that care. I know I am one. You're very welcome @ayushjalan. Glad you feel safe to share. It's kind of odd. I do too. I have only had 1 person retort with something negative and I told him to hop in his boat and sail on LOL. I have met the most amazing people here. It's great to be accepted for being yourself.

It is. It's even greater when you can make it a potential career. Imagine being paid for always speaking your mind and sharing your honest opinion. That's the dream.