I'm an introvert, yet sometimes I act like an extrovert. #CURIOUSCONTRADICTIONSCONTEST

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

I AM the contradiction.

28946245_10160132279840162_2140495120_o.jpg

I'm an introvert, yet sometimes I act like an extrovert.

Let me explain:

I work from home and spend a significant amount of time in my home. I’m what you would consider a home body. -an introvert (I often wonder what my neighbours might think because sometimes it can be a few days of not leaving the house…… not in an unhealthy way though)

I want to get out of the house and as soon as I leave, I usually want to come right back home.

I can’t handle much, yet when I say yes to something, I want it to be huge.

I’m like an all or nothing type of gal.

I love silence, Yet I enjoy commotion.

I am quiet as can be, yet I can talk your ear off when I’m comfortable.

I’m easy going, yet a bit of a perfectionist.

I care deeply, sometimes I don’t care enough.

I’m super compassionate for others, but don’t fuck with me, I will put you in your place.

I’m calm, yet fiery.

You’re probably thinking I have a split personality at this point, but I don’t......There’s more……

I’m content yet always longing for more

I’ve got a closet full of clothes and I love to dress up, yet I’m usually found in yoga pants 95% of the time.

I hate commitment, yet I love giant projects that require commitment.

I’ll stop there.

I’ve spent a significant amount of time in my life thinking there was something wrong with me because I was never satisfied, confused in what I wanted, or who I wanted to be.

But over the past few years, I’ve come to accept these contradictions. And be ok with wanting, doing and being the opposite sometimes.

Realizing that, either one weren’t right or wrong or “who I was”, it was about that particular vibe I have going on at that time.

I get to choose. I like that. I like how I can mix it up. I like how my soul longs for diversity.

What has helped me really understand these contradictions, is knowing how I want to feel. and often and in certain areas of life, we desire to feel a certain way, and sometimes, that certain thing, happens to be the opposite of what “my normal” is.

This contest topic has challenged me to look at these things more closely and allow them to resurface.

I want to continue to work towards not being attached to any of these and not label myself or limit myself, I want to give myself permission to do what I feel like doing at the time.

That, I don’t have to “live up to” my own little expectations I put on myself. instead, I can just honour the feeling/vibe.

I feel freer already!

Thanks @indigoocean for the writing prompt and deep exploration on contradiction, it was fun!

#curiouscontradictionscontest

Any other "introverts" out there that experience this?

footer-2.jpg

Sort:  

Wow. Great writing @tressareid. "I’m super compassionate for others, but don’t fuck with me" Hah ha. It's a lovely contradiction

Lol... I was hesitant to be so blunt, but my intentions here are to be as authentic as I can.. and it's just simply the truth... ;) Thanks for checking out my posts ! Followed you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67467.65
ETH 3470.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71