My best travel/experience and it's results

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

This is a contest about one's best Life experience/trip organised by @bigdeej, click here for more details https://steemit.com/contest/@bigdeej/50-sbd-in-total-prizes-comment-your-best-experience-trip-below-contest .
Happy Birthday to @bigdeej and me too.

Ten years ago, I was all set to travel home because my school (university) just announced a four months academic strike. My hostel mates decided to enjoy themselves with their untouched pocket money. A lot of eating and drinking took place.
There was this expensive delicacy that food vendors sell, so I bought some for the first time. After enjoying it with its spicy fried fish, I set out to board a bus.
It's a six hours journey when the traffic is normal.

After one hour of driving, I had a serious rumbling stomach ache. I felt like going to the loo but how will I do that in a bus?
If I alight from the bus for any reason, my fare will automatically expire. It was an inter state transport and very expensive.
I managed to endure because the roads were bushy and uninhabited.
Two hours later, the bus halted. There was a heavy traffic. The bus had no AC and the weather was so hot.
People were sweating and cursing but I was restless and cooking up. The heat and the need to answer the call of nature made me alight.

I trekked past the traffic because it made me feel better and began looking for another vehicle.
I was still pressed, but eateries and urinals are not common in that remote area. I just stood beside four other passengers. Vehicles were moving but none wants to stop.
Suddenly, a vehicle pulled up beside us and we all stuffed ourselves in.
The passenger in the front seat was too robust so I pleaded with him to make space for me and he did.
This new driver didn't collect money from us. Said he only wanted to help since it's already late.
We dropped off at the last junction and behold there was no vehicle anywhere.
This was around past seven pm.

I was in total shock and Fear. I stood beside the road looking helpless.
I didn't know that the driver who dropped me was watching me through his rear mirror. He alighted, came to me and asked where I intend to go.
Well he actually took me to his aunts house and I spent the night there. I had not enough money to lodge in a hotel and buses don't travel to my destination once it's six o'clock because of the distance. So,
the next morning, I thanked them, exchanged numbers and left. We started chatting and all that.

One year later, he took me to his mom and she was so excited. It was in Umuahia town.
She invited me to come sit on her laps and I felt so embarrassed. She said she, has heard a lot about me from her sister and son. That if she welcomes me with
Words only, she will scrutinise my every action,
Warm embrace, she will later become jealous of her son's drifting love, but
Sitting on her lap, will remind her that am nothing else but her daughter!
So, I obliged. She cooked for me, called her fellow women, sang and danced.
Infact she was so elated and I really felt like a queen. His sisters and brothers were all nice and they served me that Abacha delicacy that formerly ruined me. But honestly, theirs was more delicious and stomach friendly.
The community people were so receptive, carefree and humorous.
Three months later, we got married. Now I have two children and my family looks forward to seeing the May of every year. Why? Because my own birthday is 17th, my second son's birthday is 12th, my marriage anniversary is 30th and my graduation is 14th, all in May.
I can't ask for anything else sweet.
That was how my home trip connected me to my life partner.


The traditional marriage ceremony.

Sort:  

Thank you very much for taking part in my contest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62625.86
ETH 3333.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47