Sort:  

she would rather
destroy
burn the bridge between you
and drown
in the river below
than climb
and meet you
halfway
across the chasm
that splits
your bed

A powerful and real write. Setting oneself free of the grip of a sociopath is no easy task. Strength and truth:)

Sad, intense, courageous. Raw, maddening, and, in this dramatic madness, fresh.

Powerful writing that reveals a very strong negative emotional state. Talk about separation, rescue, salvation. Describe a situation with the woman who has resumed the properties of her life with the courage necessary to cross that street, any woman who has lived a divorce identifies herself in the poem.
Excellent work of connection between writing and life.

Good writing expresses a woman's courage against domestic abuse. The woman must value herself and jump the obstacles with faith.

Loading...

A powerful look at the struggle to survive and overcome an abusive relationship. I’ve never been in an abusive romantic relationship. But, I have suffered abuse in familial situations, from both men and women kin. I never contemplated violence against those kin, but I did want to die myself at times. I also feared becoming the very kind of person I feared. I saw my own peers among my kin become no different from the abusers by whom we were being raised – and go on to themselves raise the next generation the same way.

These words really echoed how I often felt in those long gone bad old days

she would rather
destroy
burn the bridge between you
and drown
in the river below

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68101.41
ETH 3762.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69