Mystery Girl ~ My "Learn To Draw With Friends" Contest Entry #2

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Hey Again! This is my 2nd entry for a drawing contest by @tonyr. As with my Homer Simpson drawing earlier today, I took photos to show my work along the way.

If you like my work please upvote my work, and jump over to @tonyr contest post, scroll down to find my comment with my drawing and upvote me there. The judging is based on upvotes in the comments. The link to his post is after my images. Thank you!

MysteryGirl-Final.jpg
Finished Work

Here are the work in progress images:

MysteryGirl-01-2.jpg
Getting the rough sketch down, I used the standard cross-line layout to establish the positions for the eyes, nose, mouth, ears and hairline.

MysteryGirl-03.jpg
Drawing in the facial features. Notice how the line for the top of the skull in the image above becomes the top edge of the headband.

MysteryGirl-04.jpg
Committing to the primary lines.

MysteryGirl-05.jpg
Erase the preliminary sketch lines and guides.

MysteryGirl-06.jpg
Drawing in the facial features.

MysteryGirl-07.jpg
Using my fingertips to smudge in some shadows.

MysteryGirl-08.jpg
Continue adding in hair and shadows.

The final step was to go back in and put down the final dark lines and shadows using more pressure on the pencil.

Again please vote for me here and in the comments of the contest post page!
https://steemit.com/contest/@tonyr/35-sbd-prize-pool-learn-to-draw-with-friends-week-2-for-all-ability-levels

Sort:  

I have always struggled to draw heads and faces - I will try out your step-by-step guide and hopefully improve dramatically! Thank you for your guidance, much appreciated :-)

Thank you for swinging by. I'm glad my post will help. Good luck with your drawings.

Here is a better view of the basic layout guide.
DrawingFaces.jpg

If you have time, please jump over to @tonyr page to vote on my entries.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60808.77
ETH 3368.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47