@Steemitcentral FLASH FICTION CONTEST Week #6

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

unnamed (10).gif

Hello everyone, welcome to the sixth edition of the @Steemitcentral Flash Fiction Contest. We are organizing this contest because of the growing need to promote short fiction on the Steem blockchain.


What is a Flash Fiction?

Flash fiction is an extremely short fictional work. An average flash fiction can be read in three minutes.


This Week's Contest:

In not more than 150 words, write a flash fiction on the topic, "The Golden Necklace".


Contest Rules and Submission Guidelines

  • All entries MUST be posted as a comment to this post. However, participants may share their work elsewhere.
  • Upvote and Resteems are not compulsory but may be used to decide a deadlock.
  • Only ONE entry per user is allowed.
  • Only original works will be considered. No plagiarism.
  • Only Contestants who follow these rules will considered.
  • Entries will close by 24 hours to the payout of this post.

Rewards

  • The top two winners will be added to the @Steemitcentral whitelist for a week. During this period, the winners will get two upvotes (daily) each currently worth $0.4 on their blog posts.

  • Entries will be selected based on the following key criteria:

  • Rereadability

  • Creativity

  • Grammar

  • Clarity


Thanks for visiting this channel @steemitcentral. Use the "steemitcentral" tag in your Steemit or crypto-related posts and get rewarded with some upvotes.

IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg

Sort:  

Hello friends, this is my ticket, I hope you like it.

SOURCE
THE GOLD NECKLACE OF LUCK
Yenny was a 20-year-old girl who always had good luck in everything, and now that she was going to marry a wonderful young man who loved her as much as she loved him. She said it was thanks to her gold necklace that her grandmother gave her when she turned 15.
Her grandmother told her - Yenny this gold necklace is a lucky necklace, never take them off always put it on and you will see that wonderful things will happen to you; I gave it to my mother, your great-grandmother, she met a fabulous man, your great-grandfather who made her happy until her death.
By giving it to me, I had the fortune to meet your grandfather who made me very happy, to you for being my first granddaughter this necklace corresponds to you, I hope you are happy as was your great grandmother and me. And so it happened.

This is my story. It's titled Little Nike.

"Where is the necklace?"

The water was cold. Olu opened his eyes and saw nothing. He turned his head trying to make out the faces in the dark room. He could not move much as his body was tied to the chair. He opened his mouth.

"Where am I?"

"Look at this buffoon. He's asking where he is. Skull, educate him." A young voice commanded.

The command and the corresponding butt of a gun by his temple gave him the much needed epiphany. He was in the company of the Young Boys Clan. They were going to kill him if he didn't reveal the location of the necklace.

"The necklace is..." He stopped himself. He would rather die. "... sold already." He resigned to his face.

The following morning, little Nike cried at the body of her brother dumped in the gutter. On her neck was a golden necklace.

The Golden Necklace

They say life doesn't give you what you deserve. I know that's true. I'm a living testimony.

How else do you explain the death of a girl with only weeks to wedding ceremony. It's tragic isn't it?

I know you're probably wondering how I fit into everything. Well, you see, the girl who drowned was my sister. My twin sister. We looked alike, talked alike and walked alike.

Although men failed, fate was determined to make a difference. My sister was immediately loved by all. She was always meeting the right men first. She even met my husband first.

Perhaps the necklaces given to us at birth have a role. Innocent golden and silver necklaces that others depended on to know who's who.

Here I am, wearing her golden necklace. Now I know how it feels to be loved. And she knows how it feels to be forgotten.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76