How I spent my valentine... the story of Grace Fagbemi

in #contest6 years ago

Hi guys,this is your steemit baby 👧, @steemcenturion, this is my entry for the i-rise competition.

Anyways I am expected to write about how I spent my Valentine.. Of a truth, I can't remember how I spent my Valentine, because I was busy trying to make someone else's Valentine worthwhile and lovable, she's my friend Grace, and you might be wondering how it always happened, Anyways let me relate to you her Valentine's story. I hope I don't get barred from the contest because of this.
I am grateful to @olamax for setting up this contest for us newbies/minnows.

Here it goes, please read up.

I'm Grace Fagbemi by name
I'm 23years old, I'm in a relationship with an army officer by name Fred Stevens who stays abroad..

I and Fred have been together for 4 years now but we've never gotten to spend the special 14th February together as he's always busy with official duties abroad and I'm still in school so I can't go over either, Fred and I are so in love with each other that we'll always understand what ever situation we have on ground and not letting minor things to bring dispute in our relationship, Considering the fact that I get to see Fred only in the December month of the year, but we've got to be strong if we want to end up together in the closest future.
But something surprising happened this last past valentine, it's something I never expected, something that brought undying smile on my face.. On the 13th February which was a day before valentine, me and Fred was having a very long conversation.. He was telling how he's going to be very busy the next day which was suppose to be valentine's day, he apologized for not having to spend any of the valentines with me and promised to make it up to me soon..
I felt bad, but I was already getting used to it and I don't allow it to disturb me..

On the 14th of February (Valentine's Day)
At exactly 12AM in the morning, I sent Fred a valentine message and a voice note on whatsApp, but I got no reply, I slept believing that he must have been busy with work and might not have seen the message.. Early in the morning as soon as I hear the Muslims saying their first prayer, I got up and checked my phone and yet haven't received any reply from Frederick, I was beginning to get a little worried so I called him, the phone rang for about 4 good times but he never picked..
I quickly say a prayer for him and got up to attend to other house chores as my heart was filled with worries.. Like what could be the problem? Is Fred okay? I was really worried about him and it showing in everything I was doing..
When I finished with the house chores, I was heading to school when I got a call from an unknown number
I picked up and after greeting the unknown person, I heard a loud voice filled with fear saying (Is this Grace, Is this Grace? Where are you? Come to the house your mom is about passing out after which the person hanged up ) I was very tensed and confused at the same time, as tears rolled down my chicks as I stopped a vehicle to take me back home..
On my way home the same number texted me and was telling me to hurry up because if I waste any more time I may come and meet the dead corpse of my mother, is this how my valentine day will turn out I said to myself as uncontrollable tears roll down my eyes, On reaching home I noticed that there was a loud music playing somewhere around my house and I could hear it vividly from a distance..
I doubled my steps as I walked towards the front gate and pushed it with all the strength in my hands and behold it was Fred in my house with a live band and a design of my name on a car parked in front of the gate..
For a minute I taught I was dreaming because Fred never told me he was coming to see me..
It was going to be the happiest day of my life and I can tell when I saw Fred walking towards my direction, he kissed me and whispered happy valentine my love. Nothing is going to happen to mom, OMG I can't believe this is all happening, I stepped backwards in tears and hugged Fred with everything in my body, everything was too sweet to be true.. My mother came outside the house smiling contagiously I couldn't help but ran to hug her.. I was very happy and as if that wasn't enough of the surprise, as I retired back to look at Fred I could see he going down on his knees..
Saying GRACE EBUN FAGBEMI WOULD YOU MARRY ME? No, No, I'm just going to die, did Fred just proposed to me? All this is too good to happen on one day, I was speechless at the moment as the live band started playing my favorite song "All of me" by John Legend.. I smiled and at the same time was full of tears as I said YES to Fred.. He was very happy as he grabbed me from the ground and kissed me passionately as if he was going to die to the next minute..
I was very very happy as we all celebrated together, everybody was happy and we all went inside the house to continue the celebration.

That's her story.... By the way I was the backbone behind the success of the event, I corroborated with Uncle Fred to make it happen.

You can now imagine how my own Valentine was..

Thank you so much for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94