Call for Votes: STACH Anonymous Writing Contest #1

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone.


Entry submission for the first STACH Anonymous Writing Contest has closed and we have a selection of 4 articles and now we need your votes to select the best 3 for share in a prize pool of 20SBD.


Below are the selected stories and we need you to vote them based on their contents, story line, delivery and word counts.


Story 1.

The First Week
I am drunk and it was not anything like I expected. The movies made getting drunk seem like so much fun but this is no fun at all, I my stomach is on the fritz, I keep throwing up and the world around me is in constant motion, even when I am not. This definitely does not beat smoking a joint, or was it a blunt, I forget the proper term.
This week has been a week of firsts for me; my first time drinking, first time getting high, first time in a club, first time on a plane and first time having sex. This week is a gift from my parents, I am dying and they want me to have as many experiences as I can before I go, they are the best.
Almost nothing turned out as I had anticipated, but I guess when you have been battling cancer for three years anything outside the walls of a hospital seems like a thrill ride. I have never had a girlfriend, I hear they are a lot of fun and can also drive you crazy.
The doctors say I have a month left, maybe two. I will never have a college graduation, a job, marriage or even kids. I have always imagined having kids, kids are great. And love, that thing that seems so beautiful and ever elusive, I think I found it in my pain and sorrow.
While I stared into oblivion I realised I love life.


Story 2.

Yes!!! “Dying Young Does Not Worth It”, this was the first word the herbalist told Green when he went to him and complained bitterly.
Green was a talented cool guy who got frustrated with life when it seems to him that he's not on the right track.
Some of his talents is singing, rapping, dancing, and comedy... He is definitely a force to reckon with when it comes to those areas
But, something is missing, which is attention

Undoubtedly, someone with all his talents is fit of making a luxury out of it since he is determined that his contribution to entertaining industry should help him get what he needed in Life.
But lesser he knows that Life has its settings, he forgot that Rome was not built in a day, he went to Mr. Jegede the Famous Herbalist in Olonkoko Village, He Told him that he needed the gods help to get him Fame in the industry. But what Mr. Jegede Told him is that; “Dying Young Does not Worth it, Go back to the basis of your work and continue doing what you do but remember to be praying to your God”, He completed the Statement by telling him WHAT YOU ARE FINDING WILL RESULT IN YOU DYING YOUNG
Just because Green does not believe in Mr. Jegede, he went to another herbalist and he speeded things up for him.
But not Quite Long at the days of Getting Known.... Green Died Young.
Shame!, What A Tragedy!!!


Story 3.

Growing up, Derrick always wanted his own family: a wife, two kids, one dog, and one cat. His whole life he put all of his efforts into his schoolwork so he could find a stable, secure job to support is future family. He did just that. He graduated valedictorian and was offered a high-paying salary position in a law firm. At the young age of 22, this was something Derrick dreamed of his entire life. Most of Derrick’s colleagues went on down different roads in their lives. Jane, his close friend, traveled to Egypt for research on The Great Pyramids. Ron, his best friend, dropped everything and bought a one-way ticket to Tokyo. Lee, the South Korean exchange student, got a position working at the Korean Embassy in Houston.
6 years, 12480 hours of work, a wife, two kids, one dog, and one cat later Derrick looked at himself in the mirror. Where had his life gone? He had everything he wanted but he was drained. Drained of energy and drained of life. He was alive and healthy but he felt as if he had lost his life. He had lost is 20’s. Derrick was constantly tired and muggy. He had grown to detest his job and his lifestyle. He was a 55-year-old man trapped in a 28-year-old’s body. A 28-year-old’s life. Derrick no longer felt alive. Derrick was dying. Derrick Young was dying. Some of his coworkers coined him the nickname ‘Dying Young.'


Story 4.

The morning sun shone through thick glass into the hospital room. The old man looked at the young man laying on the gurney. He held the boys hand, smooth skin against wrinkles.

“How I wish I could talk to you now. I wish I could tell you all the things I never did. I wish you would wake up from this coma,” the old man thought as he took out a handkerchief and dabbed his cheek.
Outside the window a bird landed on the ledge and began its song. The old man looked at the bird then back at his son. It was such a trivial thing, falling off the bike, yet it triggered something. The disease was working its way through his body but the boy looked healthy, his face blank and peaceful.
“I wish I could tell you about the time I met your mother, I never did that. Or why we split, you are too young to understand how things get so complicated...”

A nurse came in to take vitals. She placed a hand on the old mans shoulder, he looked up at her. No words were spoken between them.

“I wish I could tell you about cars, about girls, about life. About real pain and joy. Pain you will never feel again, maybe it’s for the best...”
The bird sang its song. The old man watched it as it flew away.



So there you have it. 3 stories will share the 20SBD and they need your votes.
Type in the comment section with your choice, "Vote Story 1" or "Vote Story 2" or "Vote Story 3" or "Vote Story 4."


Steem Accelerator Hub... decentralizing the offline!
follow_STACH.gif
STACH is supported by @Sndbox as a Sndcastle project.Stc.JPG

Sort:  

Vote Story 2

Wow... Story 4.

Vote story 3
I love the way wisdom was used to wrap aspiration around reality, the writer did a nice work of compressing a volume and long years into a short writeup yet not loosing the essence and important or core values that made the story interesting. It teaches morals too, To enjoy the little things and not be worked up in aspiration.
The story is complete. Thanks to the writer.

Vote story 2

Vote Story 4

Vote story 2

Vote story 2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 69527.07
ETH 2514.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55