Contest – How much money would it take to make you feel rich?

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

New Sotall Directory Prize Pool contest #1

Prize:

SBD earnings for this post are split 50% to the winner and 50% to purchase seeds and help provide clean water. Total prize payout depends on total SBD earnings. All SP earnings remain as SP to help increase the upvotes on contributors to the Sotall Directory.

Contest ends when this post pays out.

What is the Sotall Directory

Sotall is a directory of Steemit posts that provides how to instructions on topics necessary to homesteaders, survivalist, preppers and foragers. We currently house over 250 articles and that number grows almost daily.

We only accept posts with written instructions, so our viewers can print out the information they need to save for future reference. It is fine to include a video, but the post must also have the instructions written out. This is because in a SHTF situation, few people will be able to play a video.

Note:

The final prize pool posting from my personal account pays out later today and the winner will be posted from that account. This new contest is weekly and will come from this Sotall account, not my personal account.

Entry is easy!

  1. Answer the title question in the comments below.
  2. Upvote this post.
  3. Resteem this post.
  4. Watch the winnings GROW!
Sort:  

I'd feel rich if I suddenly had just enough to pay off our house and the Husband's truck, so that we had zero debt. Bump that up to a million so that I could have a nice fat cushion for things like property taxes and retirement, plus give away money to everybody else in the family, and that would feel impossibly rich :)

3 million dollars.

  1. Enough for me to buy a big house for me and to share with my less fortunate relatives,

  2. Enough to prepare my childs education and also my other nephews.

  3. Enough for me and my husband retirement

  4. Enough to invest in profitable business.

  5. Enough to ensure my other siblings and family future.

I like your contests.

I think that not much. Home happiness is not in the money

Dr Evil One Billion.jpg
One billion gagillion fafillion shabadabalo shabadamillion shabaling shabalomillion yen

For me I don't think it's the amount of money that makes me feel rich or not rich. I believe it's the state of mind I'm in at the moment. Sometimes I feel rich when I think about starving people in third world countries that don't have electricity or running water. And then sometimes I feel poor barely making it from paycheck to paycheck. But to answer your question directly and to put a number on it I believe 1 million dollars would make me feel rich. I would be able to take care of all my financial obligationsand wipe them clean. And also be able to help the closest one's around me.

Per year or lump sum? ;)
Studies about if money makes people happy or not, say that in the States, increase in income up to around $75k/year DOES increase happiness, and after that it doesn't really make a difference. Probably because that's the level where you can get all your typical needs and wants met and have savings, unless your want is a yacht, or something. So I'm gonna go with that as my figure. Considering my best paying job ever didn't even pay me $30k/year, I would definitely feel rich earning almost three times my highest pay per year!

I agree with you completely on that one. Most of our married life, Larry and I were on the 50% line of income in America. We didn't take fabulous trips or buy fancy anything, but all the bills were covered and we were comfortable and had sacked away enough money we were thinking of Larry retiring early and working from home with me. Within a period of about 10 months, the wreck happened and the 2008 economy in the toilet happened. Hasn't been much happiness since. I honestly think Larry not being able to provide for his family is part of what killed him. It was literally that much stress.

It really is. I just read some report where they said, scientists say kids raised in poverty are more prone to illness and psychiatric distress, because of the stress, and one way to alleviate their stress is to give their families more money.
I was like, no shit, science, you don't say. You could have saved the millions I'm sure it took to conduct that survey and just asked some poor people, and then given them the millions of funding.

Rich. That’s a relative term. My Gram has always said that she only feels poor when she doesn’t have what she needs to feed herself and keep herself and her house clean.

For me, feeling rich would mean having my debt paid off, and enough money to have a piece of land with an off grid home, live stock, green house, garden, orchard and a couple of walnut groves, succession planted for harvest and sale of the wood. As a Little House fan, having a walnut grove would just tickle me pink. :) Mmmmmm..... I think I could do all that easily for... $100,000. I’d feel rich if I had $100,000.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 67237.66
ETH 2668.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70