Contest - 5 FREE Steem - Help The Homeless

in #contest7 years ago

7177816216.png
How you would help the homeless?
So, I was recently gifted some Steem kindly from someone that was touched by another recent post of mine,.. lets pay it forward!!!

So here's the contest, Comment - Upvote - ReSteem to be eligible.
Topic for your comment is,..

How you would help the homeless in your country, county, town or even neighborhood?


3673281779.png
This is a problem everywhere, worldwide, and yes, there are groups working on the issue, but not enough of us day to day normal people talking about the topic. If this post can inspire someone to make some change for even one homeless person in their neighborhood, this post has succeeded. Lets see what we can start as a community focused on eliminating homeless in america..
Why? And my Story... My father was a Vietnam Veteran who picked up a lovely Heroin addiction while he was deployed. When he came back to the states and met my mother he shared his newfound love with her, they never really were given a chance to thrive after being thrown back into civilization after the war, shortly after the birth of my sister, they broke it off with each other,.. even apart from each other, the drugs took over, and both ended up being homeless for a variety of reasons over the years, my mother told me that all she needed was someone to give her a chance to get back on her feet and she would be good, and the Portland area friends she had did help her in her late years, but by then it was too late, AIDS sealed her fate, Hep-C finished her in the end.. problems that could have been avoided had she been able to get help off the streets earlier.. She passed away May 2013. My father had a similar story, spending the last few years of his life homeless (and many times over the years leading up to his death) and not being able to get the proper care he needed to possibly repair the damage to his body before it was too late, he passed away May 2016. Join me in helping others.. The Steem that is earned from this post will be withdrawn & donated directly towards helping the homeless, with a post later about exactly how the funds were used.

Sort:  

My biggest adive is to never give money but rather give food/cloths directly. If you have a few minutes it would also be nice to take the homeless person, go to a grocery store and let him shop what he wants for lets just say 10$. You just control that he buys no alcohol.

This assures that you really help people that are hungry/cold and do not support an alcohol addiction. I don't want to say that we should not help those people as well - but just giving them money sure as hell won't help. Rather invest in programs which takes addicts from the streets and helps them.

If I should win I would like you to buy some food for a homeless person with the money instead of sending it to my account ;)
What I would love however If you just could take a few seconds an look at this post: https://steemit.com/health/@theaustrianguy/this-website-saves-lifes-the-one-basic-life-support-website-everybody-should-know
If you like it please upvote/resteem it!

Thank you and may your help for the homeless be blessed.

@sn0n mission accomplished! I don't even know what I am going to do yet. But I'll think of something and let you know. Inspirational mate.

It's bloody cold at the moment (at least for Australia) and just this morning I saw a man curled up sleeping at the entrance to a cafe (it was early, not yet open).

Tomorrow I will take that man something to help. A jacket, a blanket, even a cup of Coffee for $1 from the 7 Eleven, just something.

I've always tried to be giving, but the man sitting in the streets of Coolangatta will be helped tomorrow. That's because of your post.

I'm sure you hoped for it, but did you really expect to be helping a homeless man in Australia with this post?

I hope this inspires you to keep going when it feels like no one is listening. Support will come and go for your movement, but as long as you stay committed and true to the cause you will succeed in making a difference in this world. Maybe even save someone elso from having to endure what you have.

Mad respect legend!

Cheers,

Fish

From this Australian guy to @theaustrianguy. 2 Coffees bought for people living on the street of Coolangatta this morning. 3 smiles on faces. Mine, and the 2 people doing it tough. Thank you for the inspiration.

To anyone reading this, it doesn't have to be something big. The 2 coffees cost me $2. Start small and make a difference. I think you'll feel better for it, I certainly did.

Sorry to hear about your dad. I didn't know.

comment and upvote your favorite reply to help vote for the eventual winner.

The best way to help the homeless is buy showing them kindness, dignity, encouragement, and understanding.

Joining a course that deals with the wellness of homeless by form of donation in money and in kind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75