Monthly Moonscapes Contest Ideas - Taking Suggestions!

in #contest7 years ago

Hello Steemit! I have been inspired to begin a contest around the full moon. 

@jonpetrich posted some beautiful moon pictures, and I did too. I have also been wondering about starting my own artful contests, so it got me thinking, what if we did a monthly full moon themed contest?

I am just thinking about the details at this point, since it is a bit late for this full moon (and what a miss that is, such a beautiful supermoon!). I figure the contest would be centered around photography and art and the theme would be each months moon-name. For example, this month was the wolf moon, so the theme would be wolves and the full moon! 

I think this would be a fun thing, and this way if someone was not able to take a picture of the moon because of clouds or something they could also just paint a picture or something like that! 

So, I got the idea-theme down, what do you think? Would you want to participate?

I guess at this point I should ask around for a sponsor and for some more ideas/advice on contest making. Are there any rules that are important to make the contest flow and easy to judge? Any tips for me?

I also think I will be wanting to do both a professional/advanced and amateur categories for entry, so that everyone has a chance to shine!

I also am wondering how I will do the rewards! I think that taking the rewards from the contest post is a good idea, but also am open to finding a sponsor to donate a few Steem or Steem dollars. Again, advice or ideas are appreciated since I have never done a contest before!

Thank you for the support Steemians, please let me know what you think and what not! Keep on Steemin on!


Sort:  

I will participate for sure. :D

The more contests the better for building community. Kudos, @skycae!

Good Idea. I'll try to get some good pics of the moon

Beautiful image of the moon! Had to come check your post out. I enjoy photos like this but am not a photographer! Good luck with your contest. ❤

Im not much of one either, you dont really need to be! Thank you!

@twinislandflames - I imagine you would be interested in a contest like this :)

@jonpetrich - i JUST came here to comment. of course! i might focus on something art related, though. thank you for thinking of me!

@skycae - for judging, you might consider thing like clarity, origionality & general composure. a full moon shot through branches that ring it perfectly might have a better composure than a full moon over a barren field? simply an opinion!

Hmm indeed this seems like a good idea, thank you for the suggestion! I will take it into account!

Sign me up.
I've been meaning to go back to my drawing board.

i would like to participate !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45