YOUR LAST HOSPITAL VISIT... Contest by @air-clinic

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

#AIR-CLINIC, #STACH

My hospital stay as a dementia caretaker

My mother in law was a really smart and adorable woman. Tears flow as I remember her vibrant personality. It all began with fumbling for words. Then it became a repeated single word for everything she meant. We had to do a lot of guesswork to understand what she meant and in the end, both parties became exhausted. That was a trying time.

Soon, she developed UTI or urinary tract infection. I consulted my schoolmate, Dr.Sheeja and she advised us to get mil admitted to the hospital where she was working as a pediatrician. I am glad I took her there because it was the best, I feel after my experience with them. This was in December 2015.

Alzheimers_brain.jpg

Cordial staff

The staff including nurses and other paramedics were very supportive indeed. The doctors were so understanding and patient and made us feel relaxed. I am usually a little wary of doctors but the team in KIMS made me feel so at home.

My mil was a little violent by then and the docs spoke to my husband and me and told us that she was suffering from early stages of dementia. They gave her medicines and she was very much pacified. Her infection was taken care of and otherwise, her health was alright. I was actually very surprised that the doctors took time to speak to us in such a homely manner. that is the word that comes to my mind because they spoke to us as if they had been our friends for life. This made our stay in the hospital very trauma-free.

Excellent food service

The hospital also arranged food to be served in the rooms and this was one service I really appreciated the most. I did not have to leave my mil alone in the room, to go buy food. Also, the nurses monitored mil's sugar level through day and night and gave her sugared tea when needed.

Image source

U5dsUbHwBTpiZGVM3KNhX527ndLFuUf_1680x8400.png

Word count 338

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60078.84
ETH 3197.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45