Science Cryptic Crossword SCX1 [Win 10 SBD Prize]

in #contest7 years ago

I created this myself. I am the compiler NREM. I like cryptic crosswords and it seems to me that there are not enough such crosswords that have a science theme. In this case, either the answer or part of the clue is related to a science or mathematics. It is not quite as hard as The Times or The New York Times, but I've tried to make it tricky!

If you enjoy crosswords, then give this a go - probably best to print it out. I don't expect it to be done in a few minutes but I hope it will bring some amusement for the weekend. Because I cannot think of a way for solvers to submit a completed puzzle, the final answer is the name of a famous scientist or mathematician from the anagram of letters in the green squares.

To Enter the Prize Draw

Upvote this post.
DO NOT put your answer in the comments.
Go to http://aesencryption.net/
In the plain text field type in your username.
In the encryption key field type in your answer. This is a famous name formed from the letters in green.
Leave it at 128 bit encryption.
Click "Encrypt"
Copy your encrypted answer and paste it into a comment.
Did I mention , don't forget to upvote this crossword?

After 7 days I will run a random generator to select the winner. I will decrypt the winner's message and if the answer is correct then that person wins the 10 SBD. If the answer is not correct, repeat the process.


Please leave a comment if you enjoy this Science Cryptic Crossword and wish to see more. I have looked at my crossword making program and I have about 10 grids that are partially completed. If this is popular, I can make one for every weekend.

I hope you enjoy solving this as much as I enjoyed compiling it.

Sort:  

Awesome idea but i also cant solve even one haha thats embarrasing

Maybe I should write some posts on how to solve cryptic clues :-)
Thanks for the comment.

That would be very much appreciated :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by rycharde from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This is tough!! I'm embarrassed to say I can't even answer one lol

:-) do you do newspaper cryptic crosswords?

No, perhaps that's the trouble- need to practice.

Hi Chris, you may wish to go and say Hello to @dudiland ;-)

Following. Thanks

Just saw this yesterday. Printing it out to have a try !

I love these brain twister style games :)

I was wondering, have you ever played any games by Zachatronics ?

God... This is one hell of a mind twister XS

Didn't know how cryptic crosswords worked, so found this article from the Telegraph. Was wondering if you had any "hints" on how to solve Cryptic crosswords in general, for beginners like me @rycharde?

Others have said the same. Looks like I shall write a few articles on how to solve these.
Thanks for the comments!

That would be great !

I showed it to some friends with more of a mathematical background, but they couldn't figure it out either, so an article explaining this would be awesome.

Then we can compete at showing our understanding by solving your next puzzle !!

Great to see this crossword here. I too don't know much about cryptic crosswords. Did you finally write any posts on solving these cryptic clues? I'd like you to send me the links for those, if you please.

I also invite you to give some suggestions to improve my crossword contest here.

Although it's a very simplest of crosswords, I'm struggling to get participation. This time I've tried to make it even simpler. As an experienced cruciverbalist, your feedback will be highly appreciated. Thank you for your attention @rycharde!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64504.36
ETH 3414.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51