Writing Prompts (Week 2) - My first Tinder date

in #contest6 years ago (edited)


online-dating-570216_960_720.jpg
Immagine CC0 creative commons

This morning there's the staff's meeting at the "WomanToday" magazine, but I'm not worry, not that much. For years I followed my beloved columns "He&She" and "Fashion couple" proposing various topics, especially responding to the requests and opinions of our readers.

But today Marco, the editor-in-chief, has a surprise for me:
-Teresa, I would like a special on the online meetings for the month of February, what do you think? - he asks me.
-It's an old topic, it has been wrote to death.- I answer seriously - So how can be special?
-I don't want an ordinary article - he explains to me -I would like you to join one of these platforms, let's say... Tinder, for example. I want to read your personal experience. Starting from now you have about a month. Let's see what happens!-.
-And I also should date people? - I ask with a doubtful look.
-Exactly - answers Marco, thinking that it's a brilliant idea.
He's lucky that I like social media so subscribing to some community, or forums to chat with other people doesn't cause me problems, but I'm honest: I've never used them to find friends, imagine a soul mate! Ok, I'll try this too.
At the beginning I do not receive no reply at all, then I have an intuition: better to remove the age from the profile! What a sadness, I think, but from that moment the matches are flapping. The profiles are more or less terrible, but I do not care, it's work. Posing photos, sentimental senteces, sexy proposals, anonymous profiles, photos that have nothing to do a date service.
I am checking Fabio' profile , 30 yo, in his photo you see only his abs, if they are his own!, and the description says: "I have the turtle and you?". Ahh, how can I let him escape. I want to chat with him.

Teresa: - Fabio, honestly, do you think your abdominals speak for you? -

Fabio: - It looks like, aren't you writing to me? -

Teresa: - This is not the point. Do you think you have a chance only because your physical appearance? -
Fabio: - Is it better a picture of only the eyes as many do? It's the same, you don't know who's behind it! Mainly you see only the face, and then you discover that he/she is obese or it's someone else's face. Or the photo of 20 years ago. Do you really think that is better? -

Teresa: - Maybe your abs are fake too. -

Fabio: -Maybe... do not you want to find out? -

Teresa: - No. I've already met a few people and it was painful. So I take a weekend break. Bye. -

It's not true. I have not decided yet with whom to go out, but for the moment my research is over.

Few days later...

Fabio: - Hi Teresa. How was your weekend? -
Teresa: - Very good! How are your abs? -
Fabio: - Uhhh how boring are you! I work in a gym as a personal trainer, so that picture says who I am.
Teresa: - Ok Fabio, you're a model and you want to meet models. -
Fabio: - In fact, I'm chatting with you. But you have more prejudices than me. Do you bother because you think it's all muscle and no brain or because you can not see my face and you're afraid it's horrible? -
Teresa: - Both. Plus because I don't have a turtle like yours. And now? -
Fabio: - It's just a joke, it seemed fun. Most of the girls answer me "I don't have a turtle but a pussy cat, do you?" -
Teresa: - And... -
Fabio: - And I have not met Mrs right one yet. Would you like to meet and have a drink with me tomorrow night? -
Teresa: - That's really out of the blue... -
Fabio: - ... ...-
Teresa: - Ok. -

I said ok. My fingers wrote without waiting a reply from my brain. I'm a little excited, but in the end I just have to get a nice article out of it. What convinced me to go out with him? Now I can tell you: maybe it was the photo on his profile!!


sport-1667997_960_720.jpg
Immagine CC0 creative commons

I have to admit that photos and presentations have their importance...

Fabio arrives on time, very casual, uncombed hair. A handsome thirty and I think have more than 10 over his age. I bite my lips.

Fabio: - I was not sure you were coming. -
Teresa: - The thrill of these things, right? Without suspance there's no fun? -
Fabio: - So this is what you like about app dating? It's not it because you feel lonely and don't know how to meet new people? -
Teresa: - Exactly, I like surprises. And what do you think? -
Fabio: - So you prefer ambiguous profiles, those of which you don't understand anything? -
Teresa: - Yes, well, without exaggerating. I will say it's like a blind date, don't you think? -
Fabio: - Are you married? -
Teresa: - What? No, how that come to your mind? ...maybe you are the married one? -
Fabio: - Many people are married and looking for adventures, I just asked. You know? There are people who use Tinder exclusively for betrayals. -
Teresa: - I understand. But you… -
Fabio: - How often do you meet someone? And how many times you date somebody before understanding if you really like him? -
Teresa: - What's this? An date or an interrogation? -

He was making me feel uncomfortable and the one to ask questions was me.

Fabio: - Sorry, professional deformation... -
Teresa: - Deform... aren't you a trainer? -
Fabio: - No.. I mean yes... I'm... I'm a policeman. -
Teresa: - I don't know what you are but you are not a good liar. -

Fabio raised his eyes to the sky and scratched his forehead nervously.

Fabio: - Ok. You are right. Listen, you're nice. I don't want to cheat on you. I'm a journalist and I'm doing research for an article about this kind of date services. Now you can insult me, this is the truth. -

I wide opened my eyes really surprised and barely kept myself laughing.

Fabio: - ??? -

Teresa: - Fuck, Fabio. I have to change my mind: this Tinder it's really good, it knows how to arrange matches !! I'm a journalist too and I have to write an article about online dating... Incredible, isn't it? I'm not kidding, it's the truth. -
Fabio: - We always made fun of it... -
Teresa: - For work. But we have chosen ourselves. -
Fabio: - And now what do we do? -
Teresa: - Dinner? -

Maybe I'll have to start all over again to write the article, but it was one of the funniest dinners of my life.

Sort:  

Thank you for using CryptoSicko!

Well done and thank you for joining and supporting my subscription based upvoting bot that provides you with daily upvotes in exchange for your spare STEEM POWER.
Delegation links for CryptoSicko
100SP 250SP500SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62974.52
ETH 2679.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55