🌸 WIN 5 SBD! Contest! Spot the Fake #06! 🌸steemCreated with Sketch.

in #contest6 years ago

CONTEST COVER FILE.jpg

This is the sixth instalment of my #SpotTheFake contest. Guys, I am SO THANKFUL for all the entries every week. It's getting more and more each time! Forgive me for not getting back to every one who commented, but please know - your comments and entries are SO much appreciated! Thank YOU for taking part 🌸

🌸WHAT'S IT ALL ABOUT?🌸

I will be running #spotthefake every Tuesday, and I will post a few pics of a few antiques. It may be antique lighting, antique furniture, or even top designer furniture. One or more will be fake or reproduction.

It's up to you to #spotthefake. Post your choice in the comments, and maybe let me know why you think that.


🌸RULES🌸

  • To enter, you must upvote and resteem my post
  • Leave your choice in the comments, only one image is fake! 😍😍
  • The prize will be 5SBD, payable once the 7 days is up.
  • I will take all the correct answers, of the qualifying entries and do a random draw with this site

🌸LAST WEEK'S WINNER🌸

Well done, @sharoonyasir. You are the winner!

winner pic.jpg

NO YOU GUYS!! I cannot believe it, sooo many people thought the second, gold couch was the real antique. I thought it was so clear that the first image with the red velvet was the real deal.

lasst weeks pic.jpg

A lot of entrants mentioned the joints, and the fact that they are visible. This is a sign of bad workmanship, guys. You would NEVER see this on an antique. Another point was the brass tacks used, and the lack thereof on the first pic. This is just a specific style design point, mainly on French pieces. The first pic didn't have the tacks, but that doesn't mean that it's not old.


🌸 SPOT THE FAKE #06 - ANTIQUE FRENCH GOLD MIRROR 🌸 🌸

So, for this week's comparison, I am asking you to have a look at these two gold painted wooden mirrors. The fake is a very good, and I will be surprised to see many people get this right. The typical characteristics of a carved French mirror are very fine and delicate carving, painstakingly careful paint techniques and (most times) a beautifully bevelled mirror.

Using these guidelines, please tell me which image you think is the fake!

To enter, you must UPVOTE, RESTEEM and guess the correct image! Answer will be revealed this time next week!

Image One:

1400 x 800 - R13680 INCL VAT.jpg

Image Two:

sold - 850 x 400 - R4560.jpg

🌸To enter, don't forget to upvote, resteem and leave your answer in the comments🌸
🌸Thank you for your participation, I am super excited to see my contest grow and grow!🌸

mewmewfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Great contest @princessmewmew and thanks for using @resteemable

I believe image 1 is the fake.
Simply because it has a bit too much of carving while image 2 is a lot more minimal.

Number one is the fake. Thanks for the contests!

It’s a pleasure! I’m glad to see you again!

first one seems real for me ...

I think number 1 is fake. Thanks for the contests!

I think #2 is fake, upvoted, resteemed

I think image 2 is the fake one. I can't really say why but with the look and painting, image 2 is fake.
Thanks.

@seyiodus.

Woohoo, I got the last one right! I like this comp :-)

For this one I really have no idea, but am going on pure gut just like the last one I guess.

I reckon no #1 is fake, merely because I think the carving is a bit too over the top for the French, I reckon they're much more understated. Plus I think the bevelling on the mirror doesn't look right, a bit too modern.

Nice comp, I don't really care about the prize money, I just like the idea of trying to spot fakes, there's an antique dealer hiding in all of us somewhere, or at least I'd like to think that :-)

Cg

I think image #1 is the fake.

Heyyy! A new face! Thanks for your entry. I’ll post the winner next week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28