You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Engagement Contest #1 "Tell me something I don't know"

in #contest7 years ago

A study was recently released which shows that since Colorado legalized recreational marijuana, it has experienced a nearly 5% decrease in overall suicide rates. For some demographics the reduction was as much as 11%.

Sort:  

yay for the greening. i hear the crime rate is vastly reduced too

When your getting stoned, all you really feel like doing is eating not fighting lol.

So, I find this quite interesting, and I've hear of other cases where they saw similar effects. I am from South Africa, and recently they passed a bill that basically says they will make it legal to poses and grow your own marijuana at home, within the next two years.

I am quite curious to see what effect it has here as well. On this point though, do you think it's the actual usage of marijuana that create the drops in suicide rate? Or perhaps the fact that users of the drug can now, firstly, buy or grow the drug at less "shady" locations, hence lowering the risk of getting caught up in other illegal drugs and the potential hardship that comes with them? Or secondly, they now don't have to perhaps smoke in secret or hide it from other people potentially? Also, I wonder what implications the taxation of marijuana could have on a country's economy?

I'm just going to put this here.



and here



Thank you "Family Guy"

Nioce. Classic family guy, ironically I was just watching The Orville, which also stars and was created by Seth MacFarlane, same guy that did family guy. Excellent show btw, got a sitcom in space vibe to it. And I have no idea what's going to happen after they legalise it her, but it's South Africa, so anything could happen.

I had seen the ads for the new show coming out and really wanted to watch it, but I recently lost satellite cable. Just internet now. Huge MacFarlane Fan! Million Ways to Die in the West was fantastic!

I have to admit that I haven't seen that yet, but I will definitely track it down. And I can't remember when last I've actually watched TV, I stream everything now. :P

Lots of good things happening in CO! Plus they have the nicest roads to drive on

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60932.34
ETH 3380.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50