You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Questions Contest #37 | Who is your most admired scientist? | Reply and win SBD & Smartcash!

in #contest6 years ago

Enrico Fermi! His understanding of quantum physics was extra ordinary. I am lucky to be a "great grand student" of Fermi. Enrico Fermi taught Ugo Feno, who taught my Prof. Giancarlo Strinati, and luckily some of Fermi's wisdom has been passed down through his students.

The reason I say Fermi is because his studies of a Fermi gas (cloud of electrons), will effectivley lead to our understanding of super conductors. We have made some but they must be kept very cold, we want to make them work at room temperature.

If we achieve this we will have computing power beyond our wildest dreams, transmission of electric world wide without any loss of energy, unprecedented internet speeds, mobile devices better than any computer you have seen..... The list goes on!

This will all be thanks to the deep understanding that Fermi brought with him.

There are 100's of scientists you could mention to be honest but I think this work will lead us to an age of technology so advanced it will change humanity and civilisation.

Sort:  

Cool. I voted Steve Jobs, but I think this is a good reason also.

Bravo @physics.benjamin. Enrico Fermi was Italiano, so I agree with you :-)

In Rome there is a amazing museum that shows research of Fermi, If you can you must go someday :-)

I didn't know the stuies of Mr. Fermi, it's always great to know more! Hopefully we can achieve (and we will) his theories. Grazzie!!

I'm glad I was able to teach you something new.

You may like an article I wrote, which you can find on my blog, its about the coldest place in the universe, which is a Bose-Einstein condensate, it relates to what i mentioned. In the sense that by using electrons instead of atoms it's possible to study the effects of super conductors.

Link is here if you're interested :)

https://steemit.com/steemstem/@physics.benjamin/the-coldest-place-in-the-universe-is-in-our-physics-laboratories-the-bose-einstein-condensate

@bubina92 I wish I had the chance to meet Fermi. If I remember correctly my Prof. may have met his wife in her later years. The wealth of knowledge my Prof. that basically came from Fermi was incredible, he is italian also i'm sure you can tell.

@beautyinscience Steve Jobs made a very big contribution to the world of computing. Without him my argument would have little weight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59209.84
ETH 2659.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43