The Bleeding Soul Behind The Ever Radiant Face

in #contest7 years ago

There are so many women we see around with a very happy face, we see them and so many young ladies hope to be like them when we grow up, some of us wish our families could be like theirs, we admire the strength that they have but most times when we try to get a bit close to this women we realize how broken and shattered they are inside and how often their imprisoned soul screams for help.

When I saw this image for steemit-virus contest, this thoughts drop into my mind immediately, and this is my entry for the contest.

I once had a mentor whom I wish I could be like every day; I loved her so much that I started to change the way I walk by emulating hers, her family was one that seems so perfect, I always like staying around her. Her husband is one type of man you will want to be your husband, I prayed to God everyday that God should give me a man like him as the both of them seem perfect together.

Back to my mentor, she always has this contagious smile on that will make you think that everything is fine. I always love to be around her because everything just seems so perfect with her.

There was a day I went to visit her and immediately I got to the gate I watch the husband drive out of the house with a great speed, he didn’t even realize I was standing there. I quickly ran inside the house to check on my mentor if everything was fine with her, only to meet her weeping, I was moved to my bones because I have never for once imagined that this wonderful woman will have any reason to cry. I moved close to her and pleaded with her to tell me what the problem was and if there was anything in my little power that I could do to help.

She faked a smile and said to me, Oluwatobiloba all is well to which I quickly responded; No Ma, even if I had believed that all this years I will not believe that today so please tell me what the problem is?.

She looked at me and said, I know you have always drawn close to me because you thought that everything was perfect with me, there are so many young ladies like you who think that my life is perfect, some married women even come to me for advice regarding their marriages and I will give them a good advice when I am even going through worse situations myself.

My dear, before I got married to my husband, I was already established I had my own business bringing in money for me but when I meet him I felt he was the perfect man for me so I gave him all that I had .We built our home together and at a point he told me to stop working as he now had enough to cater for my kids and I and that is the reason why I have become a full time house wife.But that was the greatest mistake I made because ever since then I have not had a say in this home, he controls and rules over everything, he has sent all my friends away from me because he believes that they are of a bad influence to me. Even my kids complain about him all the time because he acts like a monster, whenever he gets angry everyone flees for safety and that is not the type of life I want for my kids.

I am losing it daily and I regret the day I said yes to this beast that I call my husband, do you know that there are times when I get really sick and he just leaves the house without giving me a second look, I will have to call my sister to come and help me to the hospital. I cannot even take care of my siblings and parents who sacrificed all they had to give me proper education.
I was really shocked, I looked at her and said; but how do you manage to still wear that bright and smiling face at all times. She looked at me and said, I am stuck here in the prison I have put myself too and I have decided to accept fate.

I was really shocked at the fact that someone who had that kind of great smile on could have serious problems within, it was from that day I concluded that most people who have happy faces have a whole lot of big issues going down within and they just wear a mask on in order to look happy.

Image source 1

Image source 2

Thanks to @son-of-satire for the generic footer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67495.61
ETH 3713.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66