NEW STEEMIT CONTEST - I love 80s

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Some of us grew up in 80s and it was the decade of bizarre items and fashion.
These days I feel a little bit nostalgic about that time, maybe because I entered in middle age, maybe just because I really loved that time.

Sequence 04.png

While thinking of 80s I came to the idea of making a trial contest on Steemit, very simple one, a contest that everyone can join, participate and have fun at the same time.

The RULES are simple:

  • You have to resteem this post.
  • share a photo of one item or anything you think that best describes 80s, and a short description.
  • There is a limit of 3 entries per account
  • The only valid entries are those which are added in the comment section.
  • This is going to be a weekly contest from Wednesday to Wednesday

It can be everything from gadgets, toys, wardrobe, haircuts, tv show, tv series, commercial, youtube clip of favorite song…
If you get inspired by this contest you can make your own post and share a link under comments section or you can just drop your picture and write a comment.

Here are few examples with short text;

  1. Everybody wear them and look ridiculous...
    s-l225.jpg

  2. Making a mix of songs for somebody was the greatest gift you can give to girl or friend...
    220px-Tdkc60cassette.jpg

  3. Rubik's cube - everybody had one and almost nobody could solve :)...
    80s-2-rubix-cube.jpg

REWARD

5 SBD from me + half of SBD what post makes in 7 days.

  • There is only one winner, hopefully, the contest will soon get some sponsors and richer reward pool for second, third place and mentions.

The criteria


Your entry can be funny, personal, nostalgic or anything you think that can be interesting to share.
Every week will be the new - guest judge, which will choose the winner.
The first judge of the contest will be General of the memearmy @fibra59 well know for his #memechallenge and #photobombchallenge

VZ3r0Imm.jpg

Sort:  

A lot of response indeed Oleg. Well done.

#1. Loading a game on Commodore 64

como.png

You are getting 100% for Commodore 64 LoL...

Thanks, the struggle was real!

Ohhh this is easy as I graduated in 1984!! So what better then a pic of me my senior year with my Flash Dance sweatshirt and funky punky haircut!! Lol. This is real man!!!!Screenshot_20180209-153608.png

I call this pic "weird science"!! Ha!! Get it?? 1st entry

I get it!! 😂😂 You totally look like her in this pic! ❤

Wow now that's a compliment!! I never even thought of that: me looking like her!! Lol

Great Entry:) Thank you.

You can't have any 80s contest and not have John Hughes films mentioned. The famed Breakfast Club, Pretty in Pink, and 16 Candles. My favorite is the lesser known Some Kinda Wonderful! I loved this story!! A must see! I even had the soundtrack on tape! 3rd entry

Some_kind_of_wonderful_poster.jpg

Costumes.jpeg

Here is a picture I found (1985?) of my brother and myself wearing our plastic halloween costumes. You couldn't see, you couldn't breath, and they hurt your face. There were no rules for halloween in the 80's. It was dangerous and it was AWESOME! I'm Yoda and I-Rock-My-Adidas!

Hahaha, great one :) Thank you for your entry.

I have very distinct memories of wearing one similar around 1988 of a Transformer! Love it

IMG_20180307_142848.jpg
I'm going to go with my records (I'm selling these, btw, if anyone wants a list of what I have left, lol), and my roller skates.
IMG_20180202_115733.jpg
Many hours spent dancing to "Ghostbusters" and "Walk Like an Egyptian" at the roller rink. 😁

I was scrolling fast and saw your pics and backed up like, who's awesome pics are these? And it's phe! Hi hi! 😂❤❤

Hi hi! 😄💙

I had tennis shoe skates!!!!

0455216d1e85b5fb7dc965e2f69e380a.jpg

Only mine were white with blue accents. 2nd entry

Great entry ;) Thank you.

Grear entry, Thank you.

Got to love the good old 80's rock, like Metallica, most the good albums came from back in the 80's!

80s.jpg

Great entry :) Remeber Jeans with Metalica :)
25695313B_166_D_500.jpg

Yes I do, or the black leather jackets, and long hair which my mom refused to let me have! Well, now I got the long hair, but need to buy a new leather jacket!

If the leather jackets are the best to support

Let me give it a try ;)
No # 1 - “Fudbalerka hair style”. Everybody had this awfulness on their heads backdays, even us girls :) Definitely most popular hair-style of the 80’s ;)

2B601B06-D6C7-43C4-A746-A45F661788BC.jpeg

I see a lot of interesting photos submitted, I wonder how the judge/s are going to choose the winner. Maybe it will be easier for the participants and judges if you break it into categories like : day one it will be hairstyle, day two: gadgets, three: tv show and so on. Just my suggestion.

Thank you for your suggestion, this is first one and trial one I didn't know how will people react. The response is great and I was thinking from the next week to make it thematic.
I can give you a hint:)
Next week is going to be: I love80,s - Movies, tv shows, and tv series :)

I agree @olegw the response is great and thanks for considering the suggestion. Cheers.

ZXSpectrum48k.jpg
ZX Spectrum 48K, home computer designed in 1982, one among the first to introduce modern generations to the world of gaming. 48K, BTW, stands for RAM (first version had 16K).

Good entry:) Thank you for participation.

Wow, I had two of those.
I had a game called "Who dares wins 2"

No #2 Madonna. The queen. When it comes to visual - she was the true eighties girl, and we all danced to her 80’s hits - Papa Don’t Preach, Into the Groove, Like a Prayer, Like a Virgin...

9DD71250-AA60-469E-920E-92C2AA191B43.jpeg

Hated Madonna, from the release of Holiday til now she has done nothing to change that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44