Steemit Engagement : Fish and bird Art Contest . Win 5 Steem or more

in #contest4 years ago (edited)

Here is the Contest.

I have been chatting with @d00k13 about the origins of the term “Yarn” to mean “to tell a story” and that out in the Maritimes, Sailors were known to tell incredible stories, and tall “tails” about their adventures at Sea. Often of fantastical Sea Creatures and other unbelievable events.

The phrase to spin a yarn "to tell a story" is first attested 1812, from a sailors' expression, on notion of telling stories while engaged in sedentary work such as yarn-twisting.

It reminded me of Tom Waits song “Fish and a bird” ... the song of a little bird falling in love with a Whale.

I thought it would be a great theme to create some Original Steemit Artwork ...

Post your creation with Link in Comments below. In 7 Days I will choose a Winner and send 5 Steem. (More if some Whales discover this small post and decide to contribute some Rewards) I will make a Tweet (from a little bird) on Twitter to see if I can attract a few Steem Whales. Ha ha....

Original by Tom Waits ....

A beautiful Cover by Noam Pikelny and Friends ..

Your painting can be Digital or Traditional but must be Original.

This all Stems from a 5 Minute Friday Freewrite Challenge here on Steem where the Prompt is “Yarn” Hosted by @Mariannewest

Link: https://steemit.com/hive-161155/@mariannewest/day-840-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-yarn

Fish And Bird by Tom Waits

They bought a round for the sailor
And they heard his tale
Of a world that was so far away
And a song that we'd never heard
A song of a little bird
That fell in love with a whale
He said, 'You cannot live in the ocean'
And she said to him
'You never can live in the sky'
But the ocean is filled with tears
And the sea turns into a mirror
There's a whale in the moon when it's clear
And a bird on the tide
Please don't cry
Let me dry your eyes
So tell me that you will wait for me
Hold me in your arms
I promise we never will part
I'll never sail back to the time
But I'll always pretend you're mine
Though I know that we both must part
You can live in my heart
Please don't cry
Let me dry your eyes
And tell me that you will wait for me
Hold me in your arms
I promise we never will part
I'll never sail back to the time
But I'll always pretend that you're mine
I know that we both must part
You can live in my heart

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23