You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your favorite song/music - everyone wins SBI + SNAX tokens, and 10 STEEM to the 1st!

in #contest5 years ago

Hearing this song, this band as a child, spoke to me innumerable ways. The feeling would flash and energize my body, my spirit. I would not come to understand the content or context of the song until much later. This sound, this feeling however, would follow me to this day. The joy and power this song brought me, in a time where I did not realize I was fighting for my freedom, autonomy, and sovereignty continues to be unparalleled. I could listen to this song on repeat for weeks and not tire of the lightening that courses my body, the fire that is stoked in my spirit. This song is tied to memories of my childhood, to my hometown, to my rebellious nature. This song started my obsession with rock/punk music and a memory I will never forget: my strict conservative, religious father gifted me this album's CD behind my mother's back. I was shocked, considering this was "devil music", according to them, but he said he knew how much I loved them. It was that moment, I remember, love crosses the imaginary human lines put down.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Great song, great band, and great story! Thank you for sharing a piece of you with us (your father was great too, giving you the CD...he established an unbreakable bridge)

I believe I was a teen when that came out. I liked to sing along thinking that I knew the words. Truth be told, I've never looked at the lyrics until now.

Your dad is so awesome for doing that! What a neat bonding experience. One of my favorite quotes that I have seen floating around is that not everyone says they love you with words and that example pops up here. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78